The Hills and the Vale

The Hills and the Vale

by Richard Jefferies


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Posthumously published in 1909, this is a collection of essays by the English nature writer and novelist Richard Jefferies. We are republishing this work with a brand new introductory biography of the author with the aim of placing it in the context of his other writings. The following passage is an extract from the introduction:
'It was not for nothing that Jefferies, man and boy, had gone through the phases of sportsman, naturalist, and artist, and always worshipper, upon the hills, 'that he lived in a perpetual commerce with external Nature, and nourished himself upon the spirit of its forms.' Air and sun so cleaned and sweetened his work that in the end the cleanness and sweetness of Nature herself become inseparable from it in our minds.'

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781675409381
Publisher: Independently published
Publication date: 01/27/2020
Pages: 140
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.33(d)

About the Author

John Richard Jefferies (6 November 1848 - 14 August 1887) was an English nature writer, noted for his depiction of English rural life in essays, books of natural history, and novels. His childhood on a small Wiltshire farm had a great influence on him and provides the background to all his major works of fiction.Jefferies's corpus of writings includes a diversity of genres and topics, including Bevis (1882), a classic children's book, and After London (1885), an early work of science fiction. For much of his adult life, he suffered from tuberculosis, and his struggles with the illness and with poverty also play a role in his writing. Jefferies valued and cultivated an intensity of feeling in his experience of the world around him, a cultivation that he describes in detail in The Story of My Heart (1883). This work, an introspective depiction of his thoughts and feelings on the world, gained him the reputation of a nature mystic at the time.

Table of Contents

Introduction Edward Thomas; 1. Choosing a cow; 2. Skating; 3. Marlborough forest; 4. Village churches; 5. Birds of spring; 6. The spring of the year; 7. Vignettes from nature; 8. A king of acres; 9. The story of Swindon; 10. Unequal agriculture; 11. Village organization; 12. The idle earth; 13. After the county franchise; 14. The Wiltshire labourer; 15. On the Downs; 16. The sun and the brook; 17. Nature and eternity; 18. The dawn.

Customer Reviews