Highway Queen

Highway Queen

by Nikki LaneNikki Lane


$14.23 $15.99 Save 11% Current price is $14.23, Original price is $15.99. You Save 11%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Nikki Lane's 2014 album for New West Records was a splashy affair, coming with an endorsement from Dan Auerbach, the leader of the Black Keys, who produced the album. As excellent as All or Nothin' was -- and it was a sharp, smart record, walking the fine line separating retro-Americana and modern country -- it was also somewhat hampered by its association with Auerbach, suggesting that Lane may be a hipster roots act. Highway Queen, Lane's 2017 sequel co-produced by Lane and Jonathan Tyler, dismisses any of these notions, thanks to its stripped-down noir-ish production. Alternating between immediacy and mud, Highway Queen has a distinct, dusky vibe that's alluring, drawing listeners into its hidden recesses. Lane favors old-fashioned forms -- there are hints of girl group, honky tonk, rock & roll boogie, and outlaw country percolating beneath the album's surface -- but when the tempo slows down and the vistas stretch out, she holds her own with Neko Case, assaying moody journeys into the dark corners of the soul. The key to Lane's appeal is that she's not an art-pop vocalist, she's a country singer, keeping her wounded emotions and kicking rhythms in the forefront; the hidden emotions certainly matter but the gut-level impact matters more. That's what gives Highway Queen its edge. As impressionistic as the smeary sounds can be, it's an album that rests on its sturdy songs and Lane's powerful performance, two elements that keep Highway Queen as engaging on repeated listens as it is on its first.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/17/2017
Label: New West Records
UPC: 0607396644223
catalogNumber: 6442
Rank: 81192

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nikki Lane   Primary Artist,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals
Scott Lee   Bass Guitar
Russ Pahl   Pedal Steel Guitar
Kenny Vaughan   Acoustic Guitar,Rhythm Guitar
Matt Pence   Percussion,Drums
Ian Fitchuk   Piano
Jeff Saenz   Acoustic Guitar
John McTigue   Drums
Eric Whitman   Piano,Bass Guitar
Ricky Ray Jackson   Pedal Steel Guitar,Electric Guitar
Ben Eyestone   Drums
Collin Dupuis   Percussion
Dave Roe   Bass Guitar
Josh Hedley   Fiddle
Taylor Powell   Tambourine
Shelly Colvin   Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Daniel Creamer   Percussion,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Alex Munoz   Guitar,Guitar (Baritone)
Jonathan Tyler   Acoustic Guitar,Background Vocals
Ryan Ake   Guitar,Electric Guitar,Rhythm Guitar
Steven Cooper   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Erika Wolf   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Matt Pence   Producer,Engineer
Jeff Hyde   Composer
Collin Dupuis   Producer,Engineer
Lee Foster   Executive Producer
Ryan Tyndell   Composer
Nikki Lane   Composer,Producer
Wade Ryff   Composer
Jonathan Tyler   Producer
Erica McGillis   Composer

Customer Reviews