Pub. Date:
High on Music/Get Up and Dance

High on Music/Get Up and Dance

by The Memphis HornsThe Memphis Horns


$14.20 $21.99 Save 35% Current price is $14.2, Original price is $21.99. You Save 35%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, September 23


The Funky Town Grooves label combines the first two albums the Memphis Horns recorded for RCA: High on Music (1976) and Get Up & Dance (1977), neither of which had been in print for years. The albums didn't exactly burn up the charts. High on Music didn't register, while Get Up & Dance placed three songs -- including the relaxed funk grooves "Get Up and Dance" and "What the Funk" -- on the R&B chart's lower rungs. Both A-sides are in the realm of Brass Construction, the Brothers Johnson, and the club-oriented side of MFSB, if not quite as prone to maximum rotation. Deniece Williams and D.J. Rogers appear as guest vocalists.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 10/26/2018
Label: Funkytown Grooves
UPC: 0886979509528
catalogNumber: 10066322
Rank: 60899


  1. Freedom Train
  2. High On Music
  3. Keep On Doin' It
  4. Get It Up
  5. 80 Proof Red
  6. Disco Party
  7. Crystal Mellow
  8. Move Your Feet
  9. Love's Mood
  10. Beale Street Shuffle
  11. Get Up And Dance
  12. Just for Your Love
  13. Waitin' For The Flood
  14. Love Is Happiness
  15. Memphis Nights
  16. What The Funk
  17. Country Soul
  18. No Go Betweens
  19. Don't Abuse It
  20. Keep On Smilin'

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Memphis Horns   Primary Artist,Vocals
Deniece Williams   Vocals
D.J. Rogers   Vocals
Lewis Collins   Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Group Member
Paulinho Da Costa   Percussion
Bobby Eaton   Bass
James Gadson   Drums
Jay Graydon   Guitar
Lani Groves   Vocals
Jack Hale   Trombone,Group Member
Marlo Henderson   Guitar
Wayne Jackson   Trumpet,Group Member
Andrew Love   Tenor Saxophone,Group Member
Clarence McDonald   Keyboards
James Mitchell   Baritone Saxophone,Group Member
Patrick Moten   Moog Synthesizer
John Valenti   Vocals
David Shields   Bass
Charles Veal   Concert Master
James Gilstrap   Vocals

Technical Credits

William Brown   Engineer
Lewis Collins   Composer
Jay Graydon   Composer
Jack Hale   Composer
Booker T. Jones   Composer,Producer
Keith Knudsen   Liner Notes
Andrew Love   Composer
Clarence McDonald   String Arrangements
James Mitchell   Composer
Don Holden   Engineer
Brian Chin   Liner Notes
Acy Lehman   Art Direction
Andy Zito   Illustrations
A. Abrahams   Composer
J. Gadson   Composer
C. McDonald   Composer
P. Moten   Composer
M. Henderson   Composer
Tony Calvert   Reissue Producer
Rick Taylor   Management
Michael Leitz   Engineer

Customer Reviews