High Noon: A 50-Year Retrospective

High Noon: A 50-Year Retrospective



$72.58 $72.99 Save 1% Current price is $72.58, Original price is $72.99. You Save 1%. View All Available Formats & Editions


NRBQ have frequently been described as "America's Greatest Bar Band," but that says a bit more about their draw than the music they play. Active since 1966, NRBQ play music that fuses rock & roll, jazz of all stripes, vintage rhythm & blues, classic pop, country, standards, polkas, and anything else that strikes their fancy on a given night. NRBQ love to entertain, but despite the abundant joy and engaging melodies that pour out of their performances, there's nothing simple or easily classifiable about their work, which is why they play beer joints more often than more prestigious venues. High Noon: A 50-Year Retrospective is a five-disc set that celebrates the half-century since NRBQ first started making music, and it takes the time to embrace the group's body of work in all its marvelous complexity. In John DeAngelis' liner notes, he compares NRBQ to the Duke Ellington and Count Basie bands, and the metaphor is apt; while pianist, songwriter, and idea man Terry Adams has always been at the center of their music, NRBQ have been through plenty of transitions of personnel and outlook, and High Noon allows all of the different editions of the band to have their places in the timeline, reveling in their differences as well as their commonalities. The set opens with a disc covering the most recent chapter in NRBQ's story, music Adams has made with new collaborators since 2005 (after the band briefly went on hiatus), and then jumps backward to the group's earliest days, eventually making its way to 2004 at the end of disc five. En route, High Noon delivers a delightfully exhaustive history of the band, sampling nearly all of NRBQ's albums and lineups while folding in unreleased cuts, live tracks, and alternate takes that will give even the most zealous fans something new to enjoy. Plenty of box sets play like overgrown greatest-hits albums, but High Noon aims for something more ambitious and important. Compiler Cheryl Pawelski has instead curated a collection that makes a strong case for NRBQ's place in the pantheon in American popular music, honoring their eclecticism and sophistication as well as their deep sense of fun. Even if you've been listening to the band for years, High Noon dazzles in its depth, and if this might seem daunting to a beginner, it's hard to imagine folks who love music at all not finding something here that will make them smile and tap their feet. In short, it's a box set just as special as NRBQ themselves.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/11/2016
Label: Omnivore Recordings
UPC: 0816651014422
catalogNumber: 101442


Disc 1

  1. Love in Outer Space
  2. Never Cop Out
  3. Waitin' on My Sweetie Pie
  4. Ruby, My Dear
  5. I'd Like to Know
  6. Boozoo and Leona
  7. I'm Alone
  8. Can't Wait to Kiss You
  9. Everybody Say Yeah!
  10. In Every Dream
  11. Here I Am
  12. The Animal Life
  13. Getting to Know You
  14. Talk
  15. Snowfall
  16. Keep This Love Goin'
  17. Fightin' Back
  18. Let Go
  19. Dutchess County Jail

Disc 2

  1. Ain't It All Right
  2. Rocket Number 9
  3. Tina
  4. I Say Gooday Goodnite
  5. Down in My Heart
  6. Have You Heard
  7. Dr. Howard, Dr. Fine, Dr. Howard
  8. Get on the Right Track Baby
  9. You Move So Fast
  10. Flat Foot Flewzy
  11. You Got Me Goin'
  12. On the Farm
  13. You Can't Hide
  14. Step Aside
  15. Benellie
  16. I Feel Good
  17. Fergie's Prayer
  18. C'mon Everybody
  19. Stomp
  20. Stay With We
  21. Heartbreaker
  22. The Waiting Song
  23. We Are Brothers

Disc 3

  1. That's Neat, That's Nice
  2. Green Lights
  3. Help Me Somebody
  4. Only You
  5. This Old House
  6. Ridin' in My Car
  7. Things to You
  8. Do You Feel It?
  9. Howard Johnson's Got His Ho-Jo Workin'
  10. Electric Train
  11. Magnet
  12. Honey Hush
  13. Get That Gasoline Blues
  14. It's Not Too Late
  15. It Feels Good
  16. Still in School
  17. Be My Woman Tonight
  18. RC Cola and a Moon Pie
  19. Get Rhythm
  20. You and I and George
  21. It's Not So Hard

Disc 4

  1. Captain Lou
  2. Me and the Boys
  3. Talk to Me
  4. I Love Her, She Loves Me
  5. Smackaroo
  6. This Love Is True
  7. Feel You Around Me
  8. Crazy Like a Fox
  9. Rain at the Drive-In
  10. S'posin'
  11. Wacky Tobacky
  12. The One and Only
  13. How Can I Make You Love Me
  14. I Got a Rocket in My Pocket
  15. Boy's Life
  16. Never Take the Place of You
  17. Want You to Feel Good Too
  18. I Want You Bad
  19. She Got the House
  20. 12 Bar Blues
  21. My Girlfriend's Pretty
  22. Christmas Wish

Disc 5

  1. Little Floater
  2. Sail on Sail On
  3. Next Stop Brattleboro
  4. What You Mean to Me
  5. If I Don't Have You
  6. One Big Parking Lot
  7. Love Came to Me
  8. Dummy
  9. Terry Got a Muffin
  10. It's St. Patrick's Day
  11. 21-50 to Headquarters
  12. Do the Primal Thing
  13. Goodbye
  14. Puddin' Truck
  15. Ain't No Horse
  16. Blame It on the World
  17. Imaginary Radio
  18. Always Safety First
  19. Advice for Teenagers
  20. Paris
  21. See You Soon

Album Credits

Performance Credits

NRBQ   Primary Artist
Anderson   Guitar,Vocals
John Sebastian   Autoharp
King Curtis   Tenor Saxophone
Roswell Rudd   Trombone
Steve Ferguson   Guitar,Vocals
Terry Adams   Harmonica,Piano,Trumpet,Keyboards,Hammond Organ,Vocals,Clavinet
Tom Ardolino   Drums,Vocals
Frank Gadler   Percussion,Vocals,cowbell
Jim Hoke   Flute,Harmonica,Saxophone,Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Klem Klimek   Harmonica
Joey Spampinato   Bass,Vocals
Johnny Spampinato   Guitar,Vocals
Keith Spring   Tenor Saxophone,Bells
Tom Staley   Drums,Vocals
Donn Adams   Trombone,Vocals
Ken Sheehan   Rhythm Guitar
Charlie Craig   Drums
Kami Lyle   Trumpet
Pete Toigo   Bass
Norm DeMoura   Background Vocals
Bobby Lloyd Hicks   Drums
Pete Donnelly   Bass,Vocals
Conrad Choucroun   Drums
T-Bone Wolk   Banjo,Accordion
P.J. O'Connell   Background Vocals
Lou Albano   Vocals
Scott Ligon   Organ,Guitar,Vocals
Quentin Sharpenstein   Bass
Lee Tiger   Guitar
Casey McDonough   Bass,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals
Danny Thompson   Flute
Brian Darby   Drums
John Perrin   Drums

Technical Credits

Johnny Cash   Composer
Anderson   Composer
Ray Charles   Composer
Eddie Cochran   Composer
NRBQ   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Claude Thornhill   Composer
Joe Turner   Composer
Richard Rodgers   Composer
Stuart Hamblen   Composer
Steve Ferguson   Composer
Andy Razaf   Composer
Terry Adams   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Greg Allen   Art Direction
Jerry Capehart   Composer
Stephanie Davis   Composer
Ed Freeman   Producer
Howie Gano   Engineer
Oscar Hammerstein   Composer
Jim Hoke   Composer
Eddie Kramer   Producer,Engineer
Tom Mark   Producer,Engineer
Thelonious Monk   Composer
Andy Paley   Producer
Don Puluse   Engineer
Sun Ra   Composer
Bill Scheniman   Producer,Engineer
Billy Shaw   Producer,Engineer
Joey Spampinato   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Keith Spring   Composer
Jimmie Logsdon   Composer
Louis Hardin   Composer
Frank Scinlaro   Producer
Charlie Craig   Composer
Jake Jacobs   Composer
Alan Stockwell   Engineer
Robert Frazza   Engineer
Paul Denniker   Composer
Vic McAlpin   Composer
Phil Crandon   Composer,Cover Art
Norm DeMoura   Engineer
Pete Weiss   Engineer
Pete Donnelly   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Ahmet Nugetre   Composer
Scott Ligon   Composer,Producer
Bryan George   Licensing
Chris Anderson   Engineer
Dan Britt   Engineer
James Frazer   Engineer
Wailer   Composer
Rick Lemker   Engineer
Adam Clairmont   Engineer
John Deangelis   Liner Notes
Casey McDonough   Composer
Jack Butwell   Composer
Stacey Sandler   Sleeve Design
Michael Taylor   Engineer

Customer Reviews