Hiding Place

Hiding Place

by SelahSelah

CD(Bonus Tracks)



Contemporary praise trio Selah (siblings Todd Smith and Nicol Sponberg, joined by longtime pal Alan Hall) have carved out a unique niche by using their gorgeous vocal blend to breathe new life into traditional hymns. Each vocalist offers something unique: for Sponberg it's a smoky blues, while Hall has a crystalline tenor and Smith is a powerhouse balladeer. Singing together, the three bring an emotional connection to their music that few soloists can claim. Hiding Places offers many such great moments ("I Bless Your Name" and the Congolese hymn "Esengo" are standouts), but Selah still shine mightiest when they perform traditional material. Here, it's a funk-rock take on "There Is Power in the Blood" (and Hall's solo bonus track, "Down to the River to Pray") that resonates with listeners, more than the too-slick inspirational pop of "You Raise Me Up" and "All My Praise." One hopes Selah will continue to forge their own way and not follow the Christian music pack down the road of repetitive worship tunes.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/25/2004
Label: Curb Records
UPC: 0715187883420
catalogNumber: 78834


  1. You Raise Me Up
  2. Part the Waters Lord/I Need Thee Every Hour
  3. I Bless Your Name
  4. Essengo
  5. All My Praise
  6. There Is Power in the Blood
  7. You Are My Hiding Place
  8. Through It All
  9. By and By (We'll Understand It Better By and By)
  10. O the Deep Deep Love of Jesus
  11. All of Me
  12. Before the Throne of God Above
  13. Turn To You
  14. Anything and Everything
  15. Down in the River to Pray

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Selah   Primary Artist
Robert Mason   Cello
Eric Darken   Percussion
David Angell   Violin,Concert Master,String Quartet
Steve Brewster   Drums
Connie Ellisor   Violin
Kim Fleming   Choir, Chorus
Jim Grosjean   Viola
Vicki Hampton   Choir, Chorus
David Hungate   Bass
Anthony LaMarchina   Cello
Jerry McPherson   Electric Guitar
John Mock   Human Whistle
Gordon Mote   Organ
Wendy Moten   Choir, Chorus
Pamela Sixfin   Violin,String Quartet
Christian Teal   Violin
Alan Umstead   Violin
Catherine Umstead   Violin
Mary Kathryn Van Osdale   Violin
Biff Watson   Acoustic Guitar,Mandocello
Kristin Wilkinson   Viola,String Quartet
Nicol Sponberg   Vocals,Group Member
Elliott Smith   Vocals
Monisa Angell   Viola
Cate Myer   Violin
Ange Smith   Vocals
Allan Hall   Piano,Vocals,Group Member
Schjolin   Percussion,Drums,Keyboards
Greg Sponberg   Vocals
Laban Smith   Spoken Word
Todd Smith   Vocals
Sarighani Reist   Cello,String Quartet
Abby Smith   Vocals
Paul Mills   Group Member

Technical Credits

Chris Eaton   Composer
Andraé Crouch   Composer
James Hallawell   String Arrangements
Mark Heimermann   Producer
Michael Ledner   Composer
Craig White   Engineer
Vikki Cook   Composer
Nicol Sponberg   Arranger,Producer,translation
Robert Lowry   Composer
Rolf Lovland   Composer
Charles Albert Tindley   Composer
Samuel Trevor Francis   Composer
Glenn Sweitzer   Art Direction
Lewis Jones   Composer
Allan Hall   Arranger,Producer,Additional Production
Traditional   Composer
Annie Sherwood Hawks   Composer
Jason Kyle   Arranger,Producer
Schjolin   Programming,Producer
Laban Smith   Introduction
Todd Smith   Arranger,Composer,Producer,translation
Jimmy Collins   Producer
Brendan Graham   Composer
Audrey Hatcher   Composer
Paul Mills   String Arrangements

Customer Reviews