Here Comes the Nite Owl!

Here Comes the Nite Owl!

by Tony AllenTony Allen


$13.66 $13.99 Save 2% Current price is $13.66, Original price is $13.99. You Save 2%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, June 18


R&B singer Tony Allen recorded for numerous labels in the 1950s and early '60s without making a significant commercial impact. This 26-track compilation has sides he did for Specialty, Ebb, Modern, and Dig, either as a soloist or as a frontman for various groups (and on one track, a duet partner with a female vocalist). For the sake of early rock & roll collectors, Ace does a great service by putting so much material by singers like this in a well-annotated package, even including five previously unissued tracks. For the non-specialist, however, it must be said that this is pretty run-of-the-mill stuff. It's similar in some respects to, but not in the same league as, the output of other Los Angeles R&B stalwarts like Richard Berry. Though this isn't classic doo wop in the vocal group sense since Allen had his own billing, both slow and fast doo wop are the predominant styles. His vocals are competent and cheerful, but not especially distinctive, which is also true of the material, most of which Allen penned himself. At times he does get into songs that rock harder, with the previously unissued "Don't You Know," for instance, not far afield from singers like Larry Williams; another previously unreleased selection, the demo "Come-a Come-a Baby," is obviously derivative of Jimmy Jones' hit "Handy Man."

Product Details

Release Date: 11/30/2009
Label: Ace Records Import
UPC: 0029667039024
catalogNumber: 6703902
Rank: 95332


  1. Check Yourself Baby
  2. Nite Owl
  3. Especially
  4. I
  5. It Hurts To Be Hurt
  6. Don't You Know
  7. Why In The World
  8. Come Back
  9. Lovers Mountain
  10. If Love Was Money
  11. Dreamin' AKA I'm Dreaming
  12. Be My Love, Be My Love
  13. Cute Thing
  14. Have Faith In Me
  15. If I Had Aladdin's Lamp
  16. Why In The World
  17. Home Wrecker
  18. Give Me A Chance
  19. Everybody's Somebody's Fool
  20. Don't You Know I Love You
  21. You Won't Let Me Go
  22. Come-A Come-A Baby
  23. I'm Dreaming
  24. I Found An Angel
  25. It Hurts Me So
  26. Check Yourself

Album Credits

Customer Reviews