Hello Happiness

Hello Happiness

by Chaka KhanChaka Khan


$10.47 $11.99 Save 13% Current price is $10.47, Original price is $11.99. You Save 13%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Strange as it seems, Hello Happiness is the first originals-oriented Chaka Khan release since 1998's Come 2 My House. Whereas the aughts LPs ClassiKhan and Funk This were based on standards, covers, and updates, this EP is mostly new, created with a cast led by Sarah Ruba Taylor and partner Switch -- aka David Taylor, producer of M.I.A. and Major Lazer fame, not to be confused with the band who gave us Tommy and Bobby DeBarge. Its germ is in the Taylors' appearance on the soundtrack of The Get Down, for which they fused the Fatback Band's 1975 funk classic "(Are You Ready to Do) The Bus Stop" to a like-spirited number fronted by Sarah Ruba. That track gets new life here as "Like Sugar," a funky and inciting vamp that, as the lead single, sets the tone for a retro-contemporary feel-good set. Synthetically souped-up twists on the slick and euphoric dancefloor funk of the late '70s likewise shape "Hello Happiness" itself and "Like a Lady," with Masterjam cut "Any Love" the closest vintage Khan analogy. The remainder is rooted in other bygone sounds, from mid-'60s New Orleans R&B to early-'80s Compass Point reggae. Best of the lot is "Isn't That Enough," built on a loping riddim in the mold of Sly & Robbie's work on Grace Jones' cover of "Nightclubbing," though Khan is uninhibited and impassioned, as always. Even when a surplus of synthesizers, organs, and flame-throwing guitars threaten to overtake her elsewhere, she cuts straight through with full-tilt, life-affirming power.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/15/2019
Label: Island
UPC: 0602577294518
catalogNumber: 002964702
Rank: 25989

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Chaka Khan   Primary Artist,Timbales,Vocals
Ricky Rouse   Bass,Guitar
Tiffany Smith   Background Vocals
Switch   Keyboards
Indira Khan   Background Vocals
Amy Stroup   Background Vocals
Eli Winderman   Organ
Thom Gill   Guitar,Keyboards
Lincoln Cleary   Organ,Keyboards
Sam Wilkes   Bass Guitar
Sarah Ruba Taylor   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Sanford Livingston   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Chaka Khan   Composer,Producer
Eve Nelson   Engineer
Ricardo Rouse   Composer
Gilles Peterson   Liner Notes
Switch   Producer,Engineer
Amy Stroup   Composer
Troydon Ray Murison   Composer,Producer,Engineer,Additional Production
Eli Winderman   Composer
Andrea Fratangelo   Composer
Thom Gill   Composer
David Taylor   Composer,Producer
John Flippin   Composer
Jordan Silva   Engineer
Eddie Langlois   Composer
Lincoln Cleary   Composer
Bot   Producer
William Curtis   Composer
Sam Wilkes   Composer
Sarah Ruba Taylor   Composer,Producer
Sanford Livingston   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Jon Van Nest   Engineer
Jacob Quetant   Engineer

Customer Reviews