Hello Goodbye: A Novel

Hello Goodbye: A Novel

by Emily Chenoweth

Paperback(Reprint)

$14.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, May 12

Overview

“Tender. . . . Chenoweth’saffectionate style works marvelously, capturing the decadence of youth.” —NewYork Times

Ina single week, one family leaves behind its past as a daughter awakens to a newfuture, in Emily Chenoweth’s intimate and beautifully crafted debut novel oflove, loss, and learning to start over. Perfect for readers of Jennifer Haigh’s The Condition, Susan Minot’s Evening,and Kim Edwards’ The Memory Keeper’s Daughter, Hello Goodbye isat once an intimate coming-of-age tale and a solemn, elegiac exploration oflife’s passage. Elle magazine calls Hello Goodbye "A tenderode to empathy. . . . Every page of this book serves as an affirmation of theterrible, wrenching beauty of life."

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062034601
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 06/14/2011
Series: P.S. Series
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 304
Product dimensions: 7.78(w) x 5.48(h) x 0.73(d)

About the Author

Emily Chenoweth is a former fiction editor of Publishers Weekly. Her work has appeared in Tin House, Bookforum, and People, among other publications. She lives in Portland, Oregon.

What People are Saying About This

Lydia Millet

“This bright, well-crafted novel, set at a family gathering to celebrate a mother whose death is imminent, steers competently away from the maudlin and makes what could be a heavy-handed exploration of mortality instead an entertaining, sometimes delicate story.”

Alice Sebold

“A beautiful novel ...Chenoweth’s eye for telling detail is as sure as her language is playful.”

Customer Reviews