Heartbreak on Hold

Heartbreak on Hold

by Alexandra BurkeAlexandra Burke


$17.77 $17.99 Save 1% Current price is $17.77, Original price is $17.99. You Save 1%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Vocalist and 2008 X-Factor winner Alexandra Burke's 2012 sophomore album, Heartbreak on Hold, finds the singer shifting away from the pop/R&B of her debut to a more dance- and club-oriented sound. Working with a bevy of songwriters and producers including Steve Mac, Cutfather, Fred Falke, iSHi, David Gamson, Autumn Rowe, and others, Burke delivers a handful of high-energy electro-house-inflected material that showcases her yearning, passionate vocal style. In fact, as Burke is the daughter of former Soul II Soul singer Melissa Bell, one wonders if Bell had any influence on the album's sound, which successfully evinces a strong '90s house and hi-NRG music sound. There is even a song titled "Oh La La," featuring a four-on-the-floor chant of "La da di da di da" lifted directly from Crystal Waters' 1991 hit "Gypsy Woman (She's Homeless)." This isn't to say that it sounds dated. On the contrary, these are hot, modern productions which, while deriving inspiration from the early-'90s club sound, never sound anything less than fresh. It also doesn't hurt that Burke has a strong, resonant vocal style perfectly suited to these diva-ready cuts. In that sense, tracks like the pumping "Let It Go" and the swaggering "Fire" have an infectious house music sound that brings to mind the contemporary dance-pop of Lady Gaga as much as classic '90s diva house artists like Robin S. Elsewhere, cuts like "This Love Will Survive," with its sweeping orchestra hits and rousing melody, sounds like a remix of a Coldplay song, and "Love You That Much" is a sparkling, Janet Jackson-meets-Kylie Minogue disco number.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/12/2012
Label: Sony Uk
UPC: 0886919990126
catalogNumber: 1999012
Rank: 178871

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Alexandra Burke   Primary Artist
Mark Read   Piano (Grand)
Hal Ritson   Violin
Daniel Davidsen   Guitar,Drums
Amy May   Viola
Mich Hansen   Percussion
Jason Gill   Drums
Marianne Haynes   Violin
Ben Trigg   Cello

Technical Credits

Crystal Waters   Composer
Cutfather   Producer
David Gamson   Composer,Producer
Richard Griffiths   Representation
Matt Schwartz   Arranger,Producer,Vocal Engineer
DJ Smash   Producer
Mike Spencer   Programming,Producer
Jose Nunez   Composer
DJ Antoine   Remixing
Ben Adams   Composer,Producer
James David   Programming
Harry "Choo Choo" Romero   Composer
Danny D.   Management
Fred Falke   Composer,Producer,Instrumentation
Thomas Troelsen   Composer
Gavin Jones   Composer
Fabio Antoniali   Composer
Liz Horsman   Programming
Charlie Bernardo   Composer,Programming
Hal Ritson   Engineer,String Arrangements
Daniel Davidsen   Composer,Programming,Producer,Instrumentation
Ivar Lisinski   Composer,Producer
Rick Parkhouse   Composer
Charlene Grant   Representation
Autumn Rowe   Composer
Tim Blacksmith   Management
Harry Magee   Representation
Roy Stride   Composer
Josh Wilkinson   Composer,Producer
Alexandra Burke   Composer,Executive Producer
Yoko   Remixing
Neal Brian Conway   Composer
Lucas Secon   Composer,Producer
Erika Nuri   Composer
Wez Clarke   Programming,drum programming
Erick Morillo   Composer
Mich Hansen   Composer
Jason Gill   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer,Vocal Engineer,Instrumentation
Dee Adam   Composer,Vocal Producer
Pablo Rodriguez   Composer
Brittany Burton   Composer
Belle Humble   Composer
Marlene Strand   Composer
George Tizzard   Composer
Antoine Konrad   Composer
Sympho Nympho   Producer
Andrey Shirman   Composer
iSHi   Producer
E.Ishi. Mughal   Composer
Red Triangle   Producer
Sonia Clark   Composer
James F. Reynolds   Additional Production
Joel Peters   Engineer
Michael Woods   Composer,Producer

Customer Reviews