Heart Break

Heart Break

by Lady ALady A


$15.27 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.27, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, July 29


Lady Antebellum took a breather after 2014's 747, with Charles Kelley and Hillary Scott both releasing solo albums in 2016, while Dave Haywood produced the country-pop trio Post Monroe. Reconvening, the group teamed up with Busbee -- the buzz producer of 2017 thanks to his lithe, clever production for Maren Morris' 2016 debut Hero -- and headed out to the west coast to cut Heart Break. Lady Antebellum have steadily drifted toward the smooth sounds of soft rock, and recording in Southern California only accentuates their inherent mellowness. Busbee adds some flash to Lady Antebellum, particularly on the numbers that are just a shade lively. "You Look Good" cooks with a vaguely funky beat, canned synth-horns, and busy drum loops; "Good Time to Be Alive" aspires to be an affirming anthem echoing off the walls of stadiums; "Think About You" moves along to a clean, chipper hook, and "Teenage Heart" achieves a synthesis of open-road country and Lumineers-styled stomp-alongs. These are the exceptions to the sweet, soft rule, though. The rest of Heart Break is split between slow tunes -- either songs of love won or lost (notably, the title track does not belong to this latter category) -- and sugary midtempo numbers graced by the group's supple harmonies. It's mood music and designed to be as such: The alluring sheen doesn't intend to grab the ear but burrows into the subconscious, so the melodies are remembered upon repeated plays. Perhaps the songs often resemble one another, but isolate individual tracks -- especially on radio -- and they each seem sturdy and friendly, the kind of music that is proudly pleasant.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 06/09/2017
Label: Capitol Nashville
UPC: 0602557426915
catalogNumber: 002638602
Rank: 170505


  1. Heart Break
  2. You Look Good
  3. Somebody Else's Heart
  4. This City
  5. Hurt
  6. Army
  7. Good Time to Be Alive
  8. Think About You
  9. Big Love in a Small Town
  10. The Stars
  11. Teenage Heart
  12. Home
  13. Famous

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Lady A   Primary Artist
Charlie Bisharat   Violin
Paul Bushnell   Bass
Matt Chamberlain   Percussion,Cymbals,Drums
Paul Franklin   Pedal Steel Guitar
Russ Pahl   Pedal Steel Guitar
Josefina Vergara   Violin
Sean Hurley   Bass,Background Vocals
Derek Wells   Banjo,Dobro,Mandolin,Electric Guitar,Background Vocals,Electronic Mandolin
Mike Busbee   Synthesizer,Bass,Piano,Background Vocals,Mellotron,Hammond B3
Dave Haywood   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Bouzouki,Mandolin,Electric Guitar
Songa Lee   Violin
Michelle Richards   Violin
Aaron Sterling   Percussion,Drums,Background Vocals,Toms
Jon Green   Percussion,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Nick Vayenas   Trombone,Trumpet
Sara Haze   Background Vocals
Mark Trussell   Synthesizer,Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Jesse Frasure   Synthesizer
Justin Schipper   Dobro
Ben West   Synthesizer
Will Weatherly   Synthesizer,Background Vocals
Jordan Reynolds   Piano
Jacob Braun   Cello
Emily Weisband   Background Vocals
Garrett Parales   Electric Guitar
Eric Barvinder   Viola

Technical Credits

David Campbell   String Arrangements
Matt Chamberlain   Programming
Daniel Miller   Art Direction
Shane McAnally   Composer
Melissa Peirce   Composer
Mike Busbee   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Dave Haywood   Composer,Art Direction
Hillary Scott   Composer,Art Direction
Hillary Lindsey   Composer
Douglas Gledhill   Layout
Aaron Sterling   Engineer
Jon Green   Composer
Dave Clauss   Engineer
Nick Vayenas   Engineer
Sara Haze   Composer
Charles Kelley   Composer,Art Direction
Mark Trussell   Engineer
Jesse Frasure   Composer,Programming
Charlie Paakkari   Engineer
Justin Schipper   Engineer
Ben West   Composer
Eric Paslay   Composer
Will Weatherly   Composer,Programming,Engineer
Jordan Reynolds   Composer
Ryan Hurd   Composer
Nicolle Galyon   Composer
Ryan McCann   Layout
Emily Weisband   Composer
Callie Cunningham   Art Direction

Customer Reviews