Head Over Heels

Head Over Heels

by ChromeoChromeo


$14.77 $14.99 Save 1% Current price is $14.77, Original price is $14.99. You Save 1%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, May 19


Montreal duo Chromeo have maintained the same blueprint from the start: '80s-inspired electro-funk brimming over with talkbox riffing, slap bass, neon synths, and catchy melodies to hold it all together. Their 2014 album, White Women, was Chromeo's high-water mark, finding their sound refined to the point where their sleazy retro-funk inspirations met with enough pop-minded songwriting design to push their often niche tunes into mainstream radio hit territory. Fifth album Head Over Heels attempts to re-create the formula that made White Women so beguiling, this time upping the ante with a who's who of special guest performers and producers. The album begins with "Must've Been," a bouncy, summery single featuring DRAM on lead vocals. It's an undeniably fun song, and Chromeo bed DRAM's jaunty performance with neatly polished signature sounds from their bag of tricks. "Just Friends" takes notes from Off the Wall-era Michael Jackson and dancefloor burners from Atlantic Starr, laying down a groove that guest vocalist Amber Mark commands with playful precision. Other songs see The-Dream, French Montana, Stefflon Don, and others stepping into Chromeo's nostalgic '80s dreamscape, adding zest to meticulously constructed songs about romantic obsession, sex, nightlife, and relationships gone wrong. Over 15 years into their craft at this point, Chromeo have sharpened their vision to a state of crystal clarity, and the duo seem just as engaged and excited in songs without special guests. "Bad Decision" rides its groove to a bounding chorus, sizzling funk guitar leads, and slick vocals, all punctuated by "Atomic Dog"-like woofing sitting just right in the mix. "Juice" is another stand-alone standout, with rubbery synths and tight vocal harmonies building as they bump along. At their best, Chromeo are a big, dumb party, the embodiment of guilty pleasure much like the cheesiest moments of the '80s hits they emulate.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/15/2018
Label: Big Beat / Wea
UPC: 0075678657894
catalogNumber: 567363
Rank: 160636


  1. Must've Been
  2. Don't Sleep
  3. One Track Mind
  4. Count Me Out
  5. Bad Decision
  6. Right Back Home to You (Interlude)
  7. Just Friends
  8. Juice
  9. Slumming It
  10. Bedroom Calling, Pt. 1
  11. Bedroom Calling, Pt. 2
  12. Room Service

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Chromeo   Primary Artist,Vocals,Background Vocals
Jesse Johnson   Guitar
Tawatha Agee   Background Vocals
Lenny Castro   Percussion
DJ Quik   Spoken Word
Carlos McKinney   Piano
Pino Palladino   Bass
Raphael Saadiq   Bass,Guitar
The-Dream   Vocals
French Montana   Vocals
Tommy King   Piano
Ammo   Background Vocals
Stefflon Don   Vocals
Sean Douglas   Background Vocals
Amber Mark   Vocals
Ian Isaiah   Vocals

Technical Credits

Adam Harrison   Executive Producer
Lenny Macaluso   Composer
Carlos McKinney   Composer
Ian Smith   Composer
Rodney Jerkins   Composer,Producer,Instrumentation
Raphael Saadiq   Composer
John Cunningham   Vocal Producer,Additional Production
Scott Harris   Composer
Greg Evigan   Composer
A-Trak   Executive Producer
Lindy Robbins   Composer
Chromeo   Producer,Engineer,Executive Producer,Art Direction,Instrumentation
Alex Frankel   Composer
Charlotte Delarue   Art Direction
Tom Gardner   Engineer
Ian Kirkpatrick   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Spencer Bastian   Composer,Producer
Jason Evigan   Composer,Producer,Engineer,Vocal Producer,Instrumentation
Joshua Coleman   Composer
Nathaniel Alford   Engineer
Oligee   Producer,Instrumentation
Jacob Kasher   Composer
Chris "Tek" O'Ryan   Engineer,Vocal Producer
Talay Riley   Composer
Patrick Gemayel   Composer
David Macklovitch   Composer
Adrien Blanchat   Image Manipulation
Terius Nash   Composer
Ben Maddahi   Executive Producer,Vocal Producer
Ammar Malik   Composer
Karim Kharbouch   Composer
Morgan Taylor Reid   Composer,Producer,Instrumentation
Vaughn Oliver   Producer
Dallas Koehlke   Composer,Producer,Instrumentation
Ammo   Producer,Instrumentation
Chelsea Lena   Composer
Isaiah Tejada   Composer,Producer
Gamal Lewis   Composer
Annaliese Schiersch   Composer
Peter James Harding   Composer
Shelley Massenburg-Smith   Composer
Sean Douglas   Composer
Amber Mark   Composer,Engineer
Gian Stone   Engineer,Vocal Producer
Stephanie Allen   Composer
Gladius James   Producer
Derek Keota   Engineer
Joseph Gerardi   Image Manipulation

Customer Reviews