Head Music [Deluxe Edition]

Head Music [Deluxe Edition]

by SuedeSuede


$13.66 $13.99 Save 2% Current price is $13.66, Original price is $13.99. You Save 2%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Coming Up was every bit the triumphant comeback Brett Anderson and company were expecting, and it was a terrific little record, but it did suggest that Suede had begun to reach the limits of Ed Buller's production ideas, while also feeling a little superficial. The very fact that its sequel was produced by Steve Osborne, the man behind classics LPs from New Order and Happy Mondays, suggested they were returning to the dark undercurrents of their first two records, yet, Head Music is Coming Up, Pt. 2. Working with Osborne has added some vague elements of electronic and dance music to Suede's signature sound, but these primarily manifest themselves in the form of gurgling analog synths and canned, old-school drum machines. Essentially, they're just window-dressing, since the songs themselves are extensions of the glam flash of Coming Up. While that hardly qualifies as an artistic progression, it hardly qualifies as a bad album, either, and they've never sounded quite as unself-conscious as they do here. Suede even gets downright silly at times, whether it's the goofy puns of the title track or the ridiculously intoxicating stomp "Elephant Man." It's hard not to miss early Suede -- the psychedelic "Indian Springs" comes close to capturing the feel, but it's bright, not menacing, and the ballads are pretty, not majestic -- but even in this streamlined incarnation, nobody does this kind of trash pop as alluringly as Suede. Nobody can turn out a single as thrilling as "Electricity," nobody can grind out sex 'n' drugs anthems as electrifying as "Can't Get Enough," or swoon as fetchingly as "She's in Fashion." When it comes down to it, nobody makes cheap sleaze sound so alluring. [Edsel's 2011 reissue of Head Music expands the 1999 album to a two-CD/one-DVD set. The first CD contains a remastered version of the album expanded by demos for "Indian Strings," "Everything Will Flow," "He's Gone," and "She's in Fashion, while the second disc rounds up the album's 16 B-sides and adds three extra tracks to the mix: "Poor Little Rich Girl," "Heroin," and the previously unreleased "Music Like Sex. The DVD contains music videos for the albums four singles, including two versions of "Can't Get Enough," two bonus videos documenting the recording of Head Music and "Black Sessions" from Paris, then a live-in-the-studio version of the album from April 1999, all capped off by new interviews with Brett Anderson, Richard Oakes, and Neil Codling.]

Product Details

Release Date: 06/28/2011
Label: Edsel Records
UPC: 0740155800437
catalogNumber: 5580043
Rank: 49929


Disc 1

  1. Electricity
  2. Savoir Faire
  3. Can't Get Enough
  4. Everything Will Flow
  5. Down
  6. She's In Fashion
  7. Asbestos
  8. Head Music
  9. Elephant Man
  10. Hi-Fi
  11. Indian Strings
  12. He's Gone
  13. Crack In the Union Jack
  14. Indian Strings
  15. Everything Will Flow
  16. He's Gone
  17. She's In Fashion

Disc 2

  1. Leaving
  2. Popstar
  3. Killer
  4. Implement Yeah!
  5. Waterloo
  6. See That Girl
  7. Bored
  8. Pieces of My Mind
  9. Jubilee
  10. God's Gift
  11. Seascape
  12. Crackhead
  13. Let Go
  14. Since You Went Away
  15. Situations
  16. Read My Mind
  17. Poor Little Rich Girl
  18. Heroin
  19. Music Like Sex

Disc 3

  1. Electricity
  2. She's In Fashion
  3. Can't Get Enough
  4. Everything Will Flow
  5. Can't Get Enough
  6. Recording "Head Music"
  7. She
  8. She's In Fashion
  9. Electricity
  10. Everything Will Flow
  11. Beautiful Ones
  12. Indian Strings
  13. Savoir Faire
  14. Crack In the Union Jack
  15. Saturday Night
  16. [Bonus Materials]

Album Credits

Performance Credits

London Suede   Primary Artist
Brett Anderson   Vocals,Group Member
Simon Gilbert   Drums,Group Member
Mat Osman   Electric Bass,Group Member
Richard Oakes   Guitar,Group Member
Neil Codling   Synthesizer,Group Member

Technical Credits

Brett Anderson   Liner Notes,Cover Art
Ian Caple   Producer
Paul Corkett   Engineer
Simon Gilbert   Director
Mick Glossop   Producer
Jools   Packaging
Bruce Lampcov   Producer,Engineer
London Suede   Producer
Peter Saville   Cover Art
Nick Knight   Cover Art
Ben Hillier   Producer,Engineer
Neil Codling   Composer
Val Jennings   Interviewer
Howard Greenhalgh   Director
Mike Lipscombe   Director
Johan Renck   Director
John Hillcoat   Director
Steven Osbourne   Producer
Michael Ade   Producer
Johnny Ogle   Camera Operator

Customer Reviews