Have Mercy! The Songs of Don Covay

Have Mercy! The Songs of Don Covay


$16.14 $16.99 Save 5% Current price is $16.14, Original price is $16.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


As influential as he was as a performer -- and he was, with Mick Jagger owing him a hefty debt -- Don Covay also had a considerable legacy as a songwriter, penning such legendary hits as Wilson Pickett's "Three Time Loser" and Aretha Franklin's "Chain of Fools," along with the soul standards "Mercy Mercy," "Long Tall Shorty," "See Saw," and "Sookie Sookie." Have Mercy! The Songs of Don Covay -- a 2012 release from Ace that belongs in their ongoing series of songs and productions from legendary artists -- rounds up 26 of these Covay compositions and, in their standard practice, they anchor the compilation with a couple of big hits (namely the Pickett and Franklin numbers, plus Chubby Checker's "Pony Time"), selecting some lesser-known versions of the aforementioned staples and digging up gems that rarely see circulation. Most of this lies firmly in southern soul territory, but there are enough oddities to keep this surprising: Connie Francis snaps her bubblegum on "Mr. Twister," Lena Horne brings some showbiz flair to "Love Bug," Arlene Smith gets bogged down in syrupy strings and corn on "Mon Cherie Au Revoir," Billy Fury is suitably melodramatic on "Letter Full of Tears," and Wanda Jackson takes her sandpaper to "There's a Party Goin' On," a blatant rewrite of "Let's Have a Party." These are the curiosities. The rest of the compilation offers a pretty perfect pairing of artist and song, whether it's the Wailers stomping on "Mercy Mercy" or Joe Tex easing through "She Said Yeah," and the diversity of the material here means all of Have Mercy! is a lasting testament to Covay's behind-the-stage strengths.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/03/2012
Label: Ace Records Uk
UPC: 0029667050326
catalogNumber: 6705032
Rank: 63293

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ray Ellis   Conductor
Arif Mardin   Conductor
Garry Sherman   Conductor
Sammy Lowe   Conductor

Technical Credits

Steve Cropper   Composer
Wilson Pickett   Composer
Dave Appell   Producer
Cliff Bennett   Producer
Dee Clark   Composer
John Berry   Composer
Herb Abramson   Composer
Roger Armstrong   Illustrations
Bell   Producer
Willie Bridges   Arranger
Charles Calello   Arranger
Calvin Carter   Producer
Ray Ellis   Arranger,Producer
Ahmet Ertegun   Producer
Paul Griffin   Composer
Peter Guralnick   Liner Note Source
Rick Hall   Arranger,Producer
Kal Mann   Producer
Arif Mardin   Arranger,Producer
Arnold Maxin   Producer
Johnny Nash   Composer
Ken Nelson   Producer
Horace Ott   Arranger,Composer
David Paramor   Producer
Ivor Raymonde   Music Direction
Marshall Sehorn   Producer
Brad Shapiro   Producer
Garry Sherman   Arranger
George Soulé   Composer
William "Mickey" Stevenson   Composer
Jon Tiven   Photo Courtesy,Foreword
Billy Vera   Liner Note Source
Jerry Wexler   Producer
Juggy Murray   Producer
David Nathan   Liner Note Source
Bill Dahl   Liner Note Source
Gerri Hirshey   Liner Note Source
Alec Palao   Illustrations
Rob Bowman   Liner Note Source
Dave Crawford   Producer
Ewart Abner   Composer
Luther Dixon   Composer
Peter Gibbon   Illustrations
Bobby Robinson   Producer
Malcolm Baumgart   Liner Notes,Illustrations,Photo Courtesy
Seamus McGarvey   Liner Note Source
Gilles Petard   Photo Courtesy
Mick Patrick   Liner Notes,Illustrations
Jason Ankeny   Liner Note Source
Brian Smith   Photo Courtesy
Mark Lewis   Composer
Marv Goldberg   Liner Note Source
Ronnie Miller   Composer
Colm O'Brien   Memorabilia
William Emerson   Composer
Mike Smith   Producer
Dave Walters   Photo Courtesy
Roger Stewart   Memorabilia
Snuff Garrett   Producer
Charles White   Liner Note Source
Marvin Podd   Liner Note Source
Pete Hoppula   Liner Note Source
Vernon Lloyd   Producer
Don Covay   Composer
John Berry   Composer

Customer Reviews