Harry Smith Connection

Harry Smith Connection


$17.30 $17.99 Save 4% Current price is $17.3, Original price is $17.99. You Save 4%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


As part of the excitement surrounding the re-release of Harry Smith's Anthology of American Folk Music box set in 1997, two concerts were staged at the Barns of Wolf Trap in Vienna, VA. This 19-song, hour-long CD was taken from those shows, and features contemporary performances of songs on the anthology, garnished by one song about Harry Smith (Peter Stampfel's "His Tapes Roll On") and the Fugs "Nothing" (which was originally recorded, and produced by, Smith in the mid-'60s). Roger McGuinn, Jeff Tweedy, Toshi Reagon, Lonnie Pitchford, the New Lost City Ramblers, Dave Van Ronk, and John Sebastian are among the better-known names, although the Greg Hooven String Band, John Jackson, and Ethel Caffie Austin won't be familiar even to many roots enthusiasts. It's good-natured, well-played material encompassing, like the original box set, all styles of folk: Appalachian (including yet two more versions of the overdone "The Coo Coo Bird)," blues, Cajun. These cuts are not highlights of the artists' careers, nor do they particularly expand upon the originals, although of course these performances have much better fidelity than you'll find on the old 78s. It's just an illustration of how these American forms live on in the present, there for those who want it.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/18/1998
Label: Smithsonian Folkways
UPC: 0093074008522
catalogNumber: 40085
Rank: 76518

Album Credits

Performance Credits

John H. Jackson   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Geoff Muldaur   Mandolin,Vocals,Track Performer
New Lost City Ramblers   Track Performer
Mike Seeger   Fiddle
Peter Stampfel   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
John Sebastian   Banjo
Ed Sanders   Vocals
Ella Jenkins   Harmonica,Vocals,Track Performer
Paul Rishell   Guitar
Dave Van Ronk   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Christine Balfa   Guitar,Vocals
Nelda Balfa   Triangle
Coby Batty   Drums,Vocals
Jay Bennett   Banjo,Piano,Track Performer
John Cohen   Guitar
Ginny Hawker   Vocals,Track Performer
Tuli Kupferberg   Vocals
Roger McGuinn   Bass,Guitar,Track Performer
Scott Petito   Bass
Dirk Powell   Accordion,Vocals
Toshi Reagon   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Fritz Richmond   Jug
Tracy Schwarz   Guitar,Accordion,Vocals
Jeff Tweedy   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Kevin Wimmer   Fiddle
Balfa Toujours   Track Performer
Annie Raines   Harmonica
Lonnie Pitchford   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
James Wormworth   Percussion
Bill Giltinan   Guitar
Steven Taylor   Guitar,Vocals
Ethel Caffie Austin   Piano,Vocals
Judy Chaudet   Banjo
Greg Hooven   Fiddle,Vocals

Technical Credits

Mississippi John Hurt   Composer
Jim Jackson   Composer
Guthrie Thomas   Producer
Ella Jenkins   Arranger
Richard Brown   Composer
Henry Rowley Bishop   Composer
Thea Austin   Producer
Ronnie Freeland   Engineer
Jeff Place   Producer,Song Annotations
Toshi Reagon   Arranger
Howard Bass   Producer
Anthony Seeger   Liner Notes
Pete Reiniger   Producer,Engineer
Kevin Wait   Engineer
Amy Horowitz   Liner Notes
Scott Stowell   Art Direction
Stephanie Smith   Producer
Harry Smith   Contributor
Traditional   Composer
Robert Santelli   Producer,Liner Notes

Customer Reviews