Hard Landing (The Echo Platoon Series, Book 2)

Hard Landing (The Echo Platoon Series, Book 2)

by Marliss Melton

Paperback

$16.19 $17.99 Save 10% Current price is $16.19, Original price is $17.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, December 19

Overview

Navy SEAL Brant "Bronco" Adams adores women but never lets himself get too close to any one of them-until he meets sweet, classy Rebecca McDougal.



Rebecca is the wife of Mad Max, Brant's commanding officer and safely off-limits-until she confesses that she's desperate to escape her nightmare of a marriage and that Max isn't the upstanding commander they all think.



Emboldened to protect her, Brant skids head-long into Mad Max's plot to do him in. Suddenly, the former playboy will assume any risk to give him and Rebecca hope for a future of their own.



THE ECHO PLATOON SERIES, in order

Danger Close

Hard Landing



THE TASKFORCE SERIES, in order

The Protector

The Guardian

The Enforcer



MEET MARLISS MELTON

Bestselling Author Marliss Melton uses her Spec Ops and Intelligence communities to pen realistic and heartfelt stories featuring America's elite warriors. The daughter of a U.S. foreign officer, Melton grew up in various overseas countries, and now resides in Williamsburg, Virginia, with her husband and family. www.marlissmelton.com

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781614177258
Publisher: ABN Leadership Group, Inc, dba ePublishing Works!
Publication date: 04/21/2015
Series: Echo Platoon Series , #2
Pages: 334
Sales rank: 881,052
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.75(d)

About the Author

Bestselling Author Marliss Melton uses her Spec Ops and Intelligence communities to pen realistic and heartfelt stories featuring America's elite warriors. The daughter of a U.S. foreign officer, Melton grew up in various overseas countries, and now resides in Williamsburg, Virginia, with her husband and family. www.marlissmelton.com

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Hard Landing (The Echo Platoon Series, Book 2) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this book. Loved Rebecca and Brant.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a unique story about a Seal in love with a woman he can't have. Not to give the story away just saying this one of the better Seal romances I have read. Not to mention the cover has a very hot guy on it which gave me the incentive to purchase it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
astev21778 More than 1 year ago
I discovered Marliss Melton several years ago and haven't been disappointed since. Her books would appeal to both men and women, although they are considered romance at my local bookstore. There's always a great love story surrounded by military suspense. "Hard Landing" is part of her "Echo Platoon" series. It was a quick read; perfect for a weekend getaway or airplane book. It moved along quickly and had me anxious for more. Her characters are quite believable and, for the most part, likable (no one likes those pesky bad guys). I'm looking forward to reading her next book in the series. I believe Marliss Melton would appeal to readers who enjoy Suzanne Brockmann, Cindy Gerard, Deborah Mann and Joann Ross. I was given an audiobook of this title by the author in exchange for my honest review.
Sophia-Rose1 More than 1 year ago
I have come to really enjoy this author's books. I love her attention to authenticism, her engaging characters, and a plot that grabs me from the beginning. I confess that this story was one I hesitated over because of the situation of the romantic pair, but my hesitation was over-ridden by interest in other aspects of the story. And in the end, I can say that I'm glad I gave it a go. This is the second full-length book in the Echo Platoon series. The story works just fine as a standalone. Each story is self-contained with brief mentions in this one of the pair from the last book. I suspect that will be true of all the books as each SEAL gets his story. Brant 'Bronco' Adams is the easy and happy go lucky member of his team. He loves his job and has a zest for life as a former bronc rider now turned SEAL. After seeing the way his mom hurt when his dad 'loved her and left her', he swore that he would never do that to any woman. He never wants to have a relationship and make some woman fall in love with him only to disappoint her. He's doing pretty good at keeping things light and easy until his friendship with the commander's wife starts to take a turn toward attraction. Getting involved with her is career suicide let alone wrong on a few levels. However, caution goes by the way when Becca shares something suspicious about his commander and hints that things aren't that good at home. Brant will help her sort through this dangerous new revelation and try to keep his hands to himself. Becca married 'Mad' Max McDougall with stars in her eyes not realizing the controlling, cold man he really is. It is when she finds herself attracted to the fun-loving and kind Bronco that she realizes what a big mistake she made. Her disillusionment becomes the least of her worries when she accidentally comes across something on Max's laptop that leads her to the suspicion that something is really wrong. In desperation, she turns to Bronco and what he uncovers starts a dangerous clandestine mission to get the proof they need that will both protect her and free her from the entanglement she has gotten herself into. Meanwhile, they both fight the attraction between them. Bronco doesn't do long-term and Becca knows that the strong feelings she is developing are going to get her burned, but maybe not before Max's secrets get her or Bronco killed. This story sets up the romance and suspense elements quickly and then develops them. There is a goodly amount of tension in fact, it felt more thriller at times. Bronco, Becca, and Max share the majority of the narration. Having Max's perspective didn't lessen the tension, but changed it because the reader is left wondering if he'll figure out that he's under investigation or if panic and do something drastic. There is the tension of Bronco and Becca trying to be so discreet and whether they'll get caught out. Things built to an exciting climax that left me breathless until the denouement. Now, I mentioned that the romance was a touchy concern for me. I don't like it when a relationship begins while one or both characters are in an existing relationship with someone else. Naturally, this one was not a cut and dry issue. Becca's marriage was untenable by the time the attraction with Bronco was acknowledged. The author allowed them to slip up with a few kisses, but nothing more happened until Becca was separated from Max. I was uncomfortable, but still able to enjoy their story mostly becau
1_book_reader More than 1 year ago
Max McDougal is the commander of Echo Platoon Navy Seals. Max loves power, control & money. He has had to put his honor aside to achieve all of it. When his wife Rebecca's life is threatened his secrets start to come out. To bring her husband to justice she will have to put her life on the line. Bronco Adams has been attracted Rebecca for years but knows all they will every be is friends because she is married to his commander. When he finds out she is risking her life to bring down his corrupt commander he will do everything he can to protect her. Even at the risk of his own life. We know from the start who the bad guys are so I must say author Marliss Melton does a good job at keeping the story engaging until the end. I'm looking forward to reading the next in the series. As a side note if you listen to audiobooks Armen Taylor does a good job with his smooth narration.