Happy People [Deluxe Edition]

Happy People [Deluxe Edition]

by PeacePeace
2 New & Used Starting at $11.70


Birmingham indie pop quartet Peace's follow-up to their successful debut In Love sees them polish up their guitar melodies and Harry Koisser's vocals with the addition of strings, synths, and an array of different sounds that expand their Brit-pop-inspired sound. There's no denying that this album was primed for the radio and their largely younger fan base, with easily digestible, clean-edged songs. They brought Arctic Monkeys and Kasabian producer Jim Abbiss on board and with that the entire record feels far more refined and complete than their debut, bringing together uptempo grooves with some of the psych-rock influences that underpin "Lost on Me" and closer "World Pleasure." It's obvious that Koisser has concentrated on the songwriting for this record, illustrating his ear for a melody throughout and providing some insightful moments on the Oasis-influenced "Someday." However, despite the care taken, the lyrics often fall flat amongst the soaring melodies and anthemic choruses, resulting in a rather conflicted listen between the words and the music. Peace appear far more self-aware on this release, the swagger and charm that In Love burst onto the scene with now replaced by the angst and introspection of sexuality on "I'm a Girl" and the moody title track. Having produced a solid second album -- a hurdle many before them have failed to clear -- Peace can feel satisfied that they've grown from their debut, if only marginally, yet it's clear they're still finding their voice amongst the joyous, optimistic melodies that are the basis of so much of their sound. [A Deluxe Edition added eight bonus tracks.]

Product Details

Release Date: 02/17/2015
Label: Imports
UPC: 0888750015327
catalogNumber: 5009502

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Peace   Primary Artist
Patrick Kiernan   Violin
Bruce White   Viola
Deborah Widdup   Violin
Helen Hathorn   Violin
Gillon Cameron   Violin
Wired Strings   Strings
Richard Pryce   Double Bass
Jenny Sacha   Violin
Emma Owens   Viola
Rosie Danvers   Cello
Jane Oliver   Cello
Sally Jackson   Violin
Hayley Pomfrett   Violin
Anna Croad   Violin
Douglas Castle   Guitar
Dominic Boyce   Drums,Background Vocals
Sam Kaisser   Bass,Background Vocals
Liz Lawrence   Background Vocals
Keri Arrindell   Background Vocals
Harrison Kaisser   Guitar,Vocals

Technical Credits

Jim Abbiss   Producer
Lee Slater   Engineer
Rosie Danvers   String Arrangements
Duncan Mills   Producer
Go De Jong   Art Direction
Peace   Composer
Harrison Kaisser   Composer,Lyricist,Producer
Frank Whittaker   Vocal Engineer
Edd Hartswell   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews