Happy Messy Scary Love

Happy Messy Scary Love

by Leah Konen

Hardcover

$17.09 $18.99 Save 10% Current price is $17.09, Original price is $18.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 18

Overview


As everyone at her Brooklyn high school announces their summer adventures, Olivia harbors a dirty secret: Her plan is to binge-watch horror movies and chat with her online friend, Elm. Olivia and Elm have never shared personal details, apart from their ages and the fact that Elm’s aunt is a low-budget horror filmmaker. Then Elm pushes Olivia to share her identity and sends her a selfie of his own. Olivia is shocked by how cute he is! In a moment of panic, assuming she and Elm will never meet in real life, she sends a photo of her gorgeous friend Katie. But things are about to get even more complicated when Olivia’s parents send her to the Catskills, and she runs into the one person she never thought she would see. This sweet and funny summertime romance is perfect for fans of Love and Gelato and The Unexpected Everything.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781419734892
Publisher: ABRAMS
Publication date: 05/14/2019
Pages: 272
Sales rank: 521,148
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.10(d)
Age Range: 13 - 18 Years

About the Author


Leah Konen is the author of The Romantics and Love and Other Train Wrecks. She lives in Brooklyn with her husband and her dog, Farley. Find out more on leahkonen.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Happy Messy Scary Love 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Some_Reading_Required 8 months ago
Happy Messy Scary Love is one of those cute rom-coms that you pack for a day at the beach. It’s got a lot of humor (mainly the adorkable dialogue between Olivia and Jake) and heart. When I picked up this book I was quickly immersed in the story. I’m not a fan of horror movies, but I loved that Olivia was, because that made her unique and interesting. She often made movie reference jokes and was all around quirky and fun, and I could totally see myself being friends with someone like her. Jake was awkward and totally nerdy, which after brooding bad boys, is my favorite book-boyfriend type, so I had a little crush on him. I was able to read Happy Messy Scary Love in one day, because the characters were so interesting, and the dialogue humorous and fun. The whole story just flowed so well, that before I knew it, I was at the last page. I’m definitely planning on reading more contemporary books by Leah Konen in the future.
Lisa_Loves_Literature 10 months ago
So this is the first book by this author that I've read. I know now that I'll have to keep trying more of her books in the future, and maybe go back and try some of her past stories. First off I totally connected with this main characters awkwardness. I get it so much! There was a lot that happened in this, and so much to keep me turning the pages quickly. I also totally clicked with her obsession with horror movies, and I really want to know if the one that Elm-Jake recommended, The Haunting of Sophia Blaine, is a real movie. I can't find it anywhere unfortunately. Of course while I think she had a perfect way to get out of sending the wrong picture, much earlier than she did, I know that was part of the drama of the whole story. A great summer read, and I can't wait to read more by this author in the future!
onemused 10 months ago
HAPPY MESSY SCARY LOVE follows Olivia aka Carrie from her Reddit username over the summer. Olivia is a horror movie fan and dreams of writing and directing them one day. She applied to do a summer program at NYU, but she procrastinated and didn't put forth her best effort leaving her to be rejected. Instead, her mother lines up a job for her at a zipline place- which is especially terrible because Olivia is afraid of heights. Olivia has been talking to a guy she met on Reddit whom she knows as Elm from his username. They both love horror movies and found out they were the same age. He proposes to swap photos, but when Olivia sees his picture, she panics and winds up eventually sending her BFF Katie's picture. What she doesn't expect is to meet the real Elm later, as Jake. She recognizes him right away, but of course, he does not recognize her. Things begin to spiral out of control as Olivia doubles down on the lies and keeps the farce going. At the same time, she and Jake are connecting in real life, but we all know this tower of cards will come crumbling down at any moment. The lies keep on getting bigger and bigger. This was a YA contemporary romance which is based on a catfish-like premise. I loved Jake, and how sweet he is plus his 'dad jokes.' Olivia also experiences a lot of personal growth over the summer, which makes this an overall light-hearted book. I do wish she would have told the truth earlier, but this was a lot of the tension in the book- and teenagers do not always make the smartest choices. However, it was an overall fun romance with loads of cute scenes. Please note that I received an ARC from the publisher. All opinions are my own.