Gustav Mahler: Lieder

Gustav Mahler: Lieder

by Barbara HendricksBarbara Hendricks


$18.04 $18.99 Save 5% Current price is $18.04, Original price is $18.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This Mahler recording by the African-American-Swedish soprano Barbara Hendricks has been issued at various times in various countries. Those encountering the 2019 release may be astonished at Hendricks (born in 1948) durable voice. It's actually only somewhat astonishing; the recordings were made in 2010 ("the Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen" and "Der Abschied," from "Das Lied von der Erde") and 2013 (the "Rückert-Lieder"). Hendricks' instrument is a bit diminished in her seventh decade, but these are very satisfying recordings. Partly it's that the music fits her voice, and that's rather rare in itself. You get this news only in the track list, but the program features not the orchestral versions of the "Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen" and "Der Abschied," but Arnold Schoenberg's arrangements for a large chamber group, made for private performances between 1918 and 1921. The argument that Mahler's chamber arrangements miss the point is a justifiable one but try these out: they offer an interesting slice of the cloistered environment in which the Viennese musical experiments grew. The most important point is that they're ideal for Hendricks' voice at this point in her career. The voice, rather than eroding at the extremes, has holes. Hendricks is still impressive in her high register: sample the ecstatic outburst at the end of "Um Mitternacht" from the "Rückert Lieder." Although she is still among the world's subtlest singers, the power is missing in the middle ranges in places, so the pared-down scoring suits her well. The end result is a recording that captures the inward-looking quality of Mahler's lieder, as well as the continuing enthusiasm for Hendricks for one of the composers that inspired her brilliant career.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/11/2019
Label: Arte Verum
UPC: 5425019971144
catalogNumber: 14
Rank: 141892


  1. Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen, song cycle for voice & piano (or orchestra)

    1. I. Wenn mein Schatz Hochzeit macht  (04:21)
    2. II. Ging heut' morgen über's Feld  (04:00)
    3. III. Ich hab' ein glühend Messer  (03:21)
    4. IV. Die zwei blauen Augen  (05:02)
  2. Rückert Lieder, song collection for voice & piano (or orchestra)

    1. I. Ich atmet' einen linden Duft!  (02:22)
    2. II. Liebst du um Schönheit  (02:30)
    3. III. Blicke mir nicht in die Lieder  (01:35)
    4. IV. Ich bin der Welt abhanden gekommen  (05:50)
    5. V. Um Mitternacht  (06:20)
  3. Das Lied von der Erde, for alto (or baritone), tenor & orchestra: 6. Der Abschied

    1. 6. Der Abschied  (28:20)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews