Pub. Date:
Gustav Holst: The Planets; Edward Elgar: Enigma Variations

Gustav Holst: The Planets; Edward Elgar: Enigma Variations

by Andrew LittonAndrew Litton

SACD(Super Audio CD - SACD Hybrid)



Among the most popular masterpieces of British post-Romantic music are Gustav Holst's "The Planets" and Edward Elgar's "Enigma Variations," which are paired on this 2019 BIS release by Andrew Litton and the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra. In part, these works' favored status with audiences is due to their highly memorable and stirring melodies, spectacular scoring, and evocative tone painting. By themselves, these characteristics should be enough to guarantee enduring popularity, yet layers of mystery that surround these works have also contributed to their lasting appeal. Holst's score was inspired by his personal interpretation of astrology, rather than an astronomical view of the planets, and Elgar's series of coded portraits of his friends and the secret source of his original theme have added to the "Enigma Variations"' mystique. This is the kind of grand and expansive repertoire that Litton seems to relish, and his readings with the Bergen musicians offer great excitement and sufficient emotional depth to win over any listener. BIS provides extraordinary audiophile sound, which makes this hybrid SACD even more attractive to connoisseurs. Highly recommended.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 07/05/2019
Label: Bis
UPC: 7318599920689
catalogNumber: 2068
Rank: 14397


  1. Enigma Variations, for orchestra, Op. 36

    1. Theme. Enigma: Andante
    2. I. (C.A.E.) L;istesso tempo
    3. II. (H.D.S-P.) Allegro
    4. III. (R.B.T.) Allegretto
    5. IV. (W.M.B.) Allegro di molto
    6. V. (R.P.A.) Moderato
    7. VI. (Ysobel) Andantino
    8. VII. (Troyte) Presto
    9. VIII. (W.N.) Allegretto
    10. IX. (Nimrod) Adagio
    11. X. (Dorabella) Intermezzo: Allegretto
    12. XI. (G.R.S.) Allegro di molto
    13. XII. (B.G.N.) Andante
    14. XIII. (***) Romanza: Moderato
    15. XIV. (E.D.U.) Finale: Allegro
  2. The Planets, suite for orchestra & female chorus, Op. 32, H. 125

    1. I. Mars, the Bringer of War
    2. II. Venus, the Bringer of Peace
    3. III. Mercury, the Winged Messenger
    4. IV. Jupiter, the Bringer of Jollity
    5. V. Saturn, the bringer of Old Age
    6. VI. Uranus, the Magician
    7. VII. Neptune, the Mystic

Album Credits

Customer Reviews