Grit

Grit

by Angela Duckworth

Paperback(Spanish-language Edition)

$20.95
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

An instant fixture on the New York Times bestseller list, Angela Duckworth’s breakout hit—praised in People as “inspiration for non-geniuses everywhere”—shows anyone striving to succeed that the secret to outstanding achievement is not talent, but a special blend of passion and persistence she calls “grit”

The daughter of a scientist who frequently noted her lack of “genius,” Angela Duckworth is now a celebrated researcher and professor. It was her early, eye-opening stints in teaching, business consulting and neuroscience that led to her hypothesis about what really drives success: not genius, but a unique combination of desire and long-term perseverance.

In Grit, she takes us into the field to visit cadets struggling through their first days at West Point, teachers working in some of the toughest schools in the United States and young finalists in the Scripps National Spelling Bee. She also mines fascinating insights from history and shows what can be gleaned from modern experiments in peak performance. Finally, she shares what she’s learned from interviewing dozens of high achievers—from JPMorgan Chase CEO Jamie Dimon to New Yorker cartoon editor Bob Mankoff to Seattle Seahawks head coach Pete Carroll.

The New York Times Book Review asserts: “Duckworth’s ideas about the cultivation of tenacity have clearly changed some lives for the better.” Among Grit’s most valuable insights: that any effort you make ultimately counts twice toward your goal; that grit can be learned, regardless of IQ or circumstances; whether a warm embrace or high standards are better for your child; how to trigger lifelong interest; and the magic of the Hard Thing Rule. Winningly personal, uniquely perceptive and even life-changing, Grit is a book about what goes through your head when you fall down, and how that—not talent or luck—makes all the difference. Read it and discover what Glamour calls one of “The Year’s Best Life Hacks.”

Editorial Reviews

Daniel Gilbert

Psychologists have spent decades searching for the secret of success, but Angela Duckworth is the one who found it. In this smart and lively book, she not only tells us what it is, but also how to get it.

Tory Burch

A thoughtful and engaging exploration of what predicts success. Grit takes on widespread misconceptions and predictors of what makes us strive harder and push further…Duckworth’s own story, wound throughout her research, ends up demonstrating her theory best; passion and perseverance make up grit.

Joel Klein

This book gets into your head, which is where it belongs…For educators who want our kids to succeed, this is an indispensable read.

Brad Stevens

I¹m convinced there are no more important qualities in striving for excellence than those that create true grit…I hope you enjoy the book as much as I did.

Sonja Lyubomirsky

A combination of rich science, compelling stories, crisp graceful prose, and appealingly personal examples…Without a doubt, this is the most transformative, eye-opening book I’ve read this year.

Barbara Fredrickson

Grit delivers! Angela Duckworth shares the stories, the science, and the positivity behind sustained success…A must-read.

Dan Heath

This book will change your life. Fascinating, rigorous, and practical, Grit is destined to be a classic in the literature of success.

Daniel H. Pink

A contemporary classic—a clarifying and deeply-researched book in the tradition of Stephen Covey and Carol Dweck. For anyone hoping to work smarter or live better, Grit is an essential—and perhaps life-changing—read.

Lawrence H. Summers

Readable, compelling and totally persuasive. The ideas in this book have the potential to transform education, management and the way its readers live. Angela Duckworth’s Grit is a national treasure.

Simon Sinek

I love an idea that challenges our conventional wisdom and ‘grit’ does just that! Put aside what you think you know about getting ahead and outlasting your competition, even if they are more talented. Getting smarter won’t help you—sticking with it, will!

Paul Tough

Fascinating. Angela Duckworth pulls together decades of psychological research, inspiring success stories from business and sports, and her own unique personal experience and distills it all into a set of practical strategies to make yourself and your children more motivated, more passionate, and more persistent at work and at school.

David Shenk

Profoundly important. For eons, we’ve been trapped inside the myth of innate talent. Angela Duckworth shines a bright light into a truer understanding of how we achieve. We owe her a great debt.

Malcolm Gladwell

Grit is a persuasive and fascinating response to the cult of IQ fundamentalism. Duckworth reminds us that it is character and perseverance that set the successful apart.

Amy Cuddy

Utterly captivating, inspiring and original…Once you pick up Grit, you won’t be able to tear yourself away.

Soledad O'Brien

Empowering…Angela Duckworth compels attention with her idea that regular individuals who exercise self-control and perseverance can reach as high as those who are naturally talented-that your mindset is as important as your mind.

Sal Khan

Invaluable…In a world where access to knowledge is unprecedented, this book describes the key trait of those who will optimally take advantage of it. Grit will inspire everyone who reads it to stick to something hard that they have a passion for.

Amanda Ripley

I kept wanting to read this book aloud-to my child, my husband, to everyone I care about. There are no shortcuts to greatness, it’s true. But there is a roadmap, and you are holding it.

Ed Viesturs

Enlightening…Grit teaches that life’s high peaks aren’t necessarily conquered by the naturally nimble but, rather, by those willing to endure, wait out the storm, and try again.

Arianna Huffington

Masterful…Grit offers a truly sane perspective: that true success comes when we devote ourselves to endeavors that give us joy and purpose.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9788479539641
Publisher: Spanish Publishers, LLC
Publication date: 02/28/2017
Edition description: Spanish-language Edition
Sales rank: 773,255
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 8.90(h) x 1.00(d)

Customer Reviews