Greetings from Skamania

Greetings from Skamania

by The SkatalitesThe Skatalites


$19.34 $19.99 Save 3% Current price is $19.34, Original price is $19.99. You Save 3%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


So you like vintage ska, with its galloping, proto-reggae backbeats, its massive horn sections, and its whanging, hip-shaking drum sound? You like the jazzy solos, the catch phrases shouted out at the end of each chorus, the ever-so-slightly out-of-tune guitar? Then you'll like the Skatalites, the Jamaican studio collective that perfected the big-band ska sound while backing some of the finest ska and rocksteady artists of the '60s. Every ten years or so a new, young generation catches on to the primordial hepness of ska, and the Skatalites get another 15 minutes or so of renewed cachet. When that happens, smart labels like Shanachie get them into the studio before they can start fighting amongst themselves and break up again. There aren't actually that many original members left -- trombonist Don Drummond is sorely missed, for example -- but legendary saxophonists Tommy McCook and Roland Alphonso are still going strong, as is drummer Lloyd Knibbs. This time out, they've brought along a few youngsters who, to their credit, have clearly done their homework and play solidly in the old-school tradition while bringing a fresh, energetic sound to the mix. Most of the tracks on this album are instrumentals, but some feature the fine (though not earth-shattering) vocals of Doreen Shaffer. Overall, this album is highly recommended -- next time you have friends over, put it on and watch them party like it's 1969.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/19/1996
Label: Shanachie
UPC: 0016351452429
catalogNumber: 45024
Rank: 116514

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Skatalites   Primary Artist
Bobby Watson   Alto Saxophone
Roland Alphonso   Tenor Saxophone
Doreen Shaffer   Vocals
Nathan Breedlove   Trumpet
Lloyd Brevett   Bass
Devon James   Guitar
Lloyd Knibbs   Drums
Tommy McCook   Tenor Saxophone
Larry McDonald   Percussion
Lester Sterling   Alto Saxophone
Steve Turre   Trombone
William D. "Smitty" Smith   Keyboards
Will Clark   Trombone
Bill Smith   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Doug Munro   Producer
Roland Alphonso   Composer
Lloyd Brevett   Composer
Joe Ferry   Producer
Tommy McCook   Arranger,Producer
Marshall Toppo   Bass Technician
Randall Grass   Executive Producer
Bill Smith   Composer
Roy Beckerman   Engineer
Roy Matthews   Engineer
Roy Beckerman   Engineer

Customer Reviews