Greatest Hits [Arista]

Greatest Hits [Arista]

by Thompson TwinsThompson Twins


$8.69 $9.99 Save 13% Current price is $8.69, Original price is $9.99. You Save 13%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, April 27


During the '80s, Thompson Twins arguably produced the finest synth-pop singles, and Greatest Hits recollects their industrious years with Arista in clear, digitally remastered sound. Numerous collections exist in the Twins' catalog and nearly equal their studio albums, but Greatest Hits prevails as the most essential as it offers a definitive chronology from 1982's infectious debut "In the Name of Love" through 1987's reflective "Long Goodbye." Featuring 16 tracks, this brimming retrospective recalls MTV's formative years ("Lies"), those unforgettable Dr. Pepper commercials ("Doctor! Doctor!"), the anti-Apartheid movement ("The Gap"), and countless other '80s pop culture memories. Nearly flawless, this collection contains only one inferior single, the hokey electronic hoe-down "You Take Me Up," and it also excludes non-Arista releases, which means 1989's minor hit "Sugar Daddy," a Red Eye label recording, is absent. Nevertheless, Thompson Twins' Greatest Hits, along with Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark's The Singles and The Best of Howard Jones, remain indispensable for any '80s synth-pop enthusiast.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/01/1996
Label: Arista
UPC: 0078221894029
catalogNumber: 18940
Rank: 5061


  1. In the Name of Love
  2. Lies
  3. We Are Detective
  4. If You Were Here
  5. Love on Your Side
  6. Hold Me Now
  7. Doctor! Doctor!
  8. You Take Me Up
  9. The Gap
  10. Sister of Mercy
  11. Don't Mess with Doctor Dream
  12. Lay Your Hands on Me
  13. King for a Day
  14. Nothing in Common
  15. Get That Love
  16. Long Goodbye

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Thompson Twins   Primary Artist
Thomas Dolby   Synthesizer
Tom Bailey   Synthesizer,Bass,Guitar,Harmonica,Percussion,Piano,Drums,Keyboards,Vocals,Double Bass,Contrabass (Vocal),fairlight
Alannah Currie   Percussion,Drums,Marimbas,Saxophone,Vocals,Background Vocals,Xylophone
Joe Leeway   Synthesizer,Bass,Percussion,Conga,Vocals,Background Vocals,Emulator,Prophet Synthesizer
Matthew Seligman   Bass
Peter Dodd   Synthesizer,Guitar,Percussion
John Roog   Guitar
Chris Bell   Drums

Technical Credits

Rupert Hine   Producer
Nile Rodgers   Producer
Phil Thornalley   Engineer
Scott Ansell   Engineer
Tom Bailey   Programming,Producer,Engineer,Contributor,drum programming
Terry Becker   Engineer
Alannah Currie   Lyricist,Contributor
Geoff Downes   Producer
James Farber   Engineer
Joe Leeway   Contributor
Steve Lillywhite   Producer
Jay Mark   Engineer
Johnny Potoker   Engineer
Alex Sadkin   Producer
Andrew Scarth   Engineer
Stephen W. Tayler   Engineer
Christopher Stern   Art Direction
Olivier de Bosson   Engineer
Michael Paoletta   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews