Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Greatest Hits 2

Greatest Hits 2

by Bob Seger & the Silver Bullet Band Bob Seger & the Silver Bullet Band
Greatest Hits 2

Greatest Hits 2

by Bob Seger & the Silver Bullet Band Bob Seger & the Silver Bullet Band


$4.99 $16.99 Save 71% Current price is $4.99, Original price is $16.99. You Save 71%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, February 6


Although Bob Seger has been out of the spotlight for a number of years, this retrospective shows that the Motor City rocker hasn't lost any of his abundant heartland appeal. The 16-song set picks up where Seger's first hits collection left off, touching on both his plaintive balladeering (best represented by the radio staple "Beautiful Loser") and his sly party groove (evinced on the percolating "Shakedown"). It's not exactly a chronological set, since it takes in both older rockers like "Katmandu" and more middle-of-the-road material, such as his duet with Martina McBride on the fireside classic "Chances Are," but it does make a nice companion piece for the multi-platinum first volume. Seger offsets the classics with a pair of new recordings -- his first in nearly eight years -- that fit nicely into the warm, slightly gruff tone of his latter-day work. The burnished "Satisfied" reflects its title well, with Seger's throaty musings chafing only slightly against a thick, smooth melody that's flecked with pastel guitars. "Tomorrow," on the other hand, is slightly more aggressive, with an insistent chiming melody that's not a million miles away from George Harrison's "Brainwashed." Sure, the bulk of Greatest Hits 2 is within easy reach of anyone in shouting distance of a classic rock radio station, but the taste of newer material alone is reason enough for any Seger supporter to dip into these grooves.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 11/04/2003
Label: Capitol
UPC: 0724385277207
catalogNumber: 52772
Rank: 1620


  1. Understanding
  2. The Fire Down Below
  3. Her Strut
  4. Beautiful Loser
  5. Sunspot Baby
  6. Katmandu
  7. Shame on the Moon
  8. Fire Lake
  9. Tryin' to Live My Life Without You
  10. Shakedown
  11. Manhattan
  12. New Coat of Paint
  13. Chances Are
  14. Rock and Roll Never Forgets
  15. Satisfied
  16. Tomorrow
  17. Turn the Page

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bob Seger & the Silver Bullet Band   Primary Artist
Don Henley   Background Vocals
Matt Rollings   Piano
Pete Carr   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Rhythm Guitar
Keith Forsey   Percussion
Pamela Moore   Background Vocals
Martina McBride   Vocals
Bobbye Hall   Percussion
Drew Abbott   Guitar,Electric Guitar
Eddie Bayers   Drums
Barry Beckett   Organ,Synthesizer,Piano,Electric Piano,Piano (Grand)
Roy Bittan   Piano
Larry Byram   Guitar
Harrison Calloway   Trumpet
Chris Campbell   Bass,Background Vocals
Laura Creamer   Background Vocals
Ronnie Eades   Baritone Saxophone
Harold Faltermeyer   Synclavier
Glenn Frey   Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Craig Frost   Organ,Piano
Bob Glaub   Bass
Roger Hawkins   Percussion,Drums
Richie Hayward   Drums
David Hood   Bass,Bass Guitar
Dann Huff   Guitar
Jimmy Johnson   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar
Russ Kunkel   Drums
Randy McCormick   Organ
Shaun Murphy   Percussion,Background Vocals
Buell Neidlinger   Acoustic Bass
Spooner Oldham   Organ,Electric Piano
Dean Parks   Electric Guitar
Bill Payne   Piano
Alto Reed   Saxophone,Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Charles Rose   Trombone
Timothy B. Schmit   Background Vocals
Bob Seger   Acoustic Guitar,Harmonica,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Slide Guitar,Soloist,Vocal Harmony
Joan Sliwin   Background Vocals
Harry Stinson   Drums
Fred Tackett   Acoustic Guitar
David Teegarden   Percussion,Drums,Background Vocals
Harvey Thompson   Tenor Saxophone
June Tilton   Background Vocals
Jeffrey "C.J." Vanston   Keyboards
Maxine Willard Waters   Background Vocals
Luther Waters   Background Vocals
Oren Waters   Background Vocals
Waddy Wachtel   Guitar
Michael Hart Thompson   Guitar
Julia Waters   Background Vocals
Kenny Bell   Guitar
Charlie Allen Martin   Drums

Technical Credits

Rodney Crowell   Composer
Yusuf (Cat Stevens)   Composer
Tom Waits   Composer
Keith Forsey   Composer,Producer
Jim Bruzzese   Engineer
David Campbell   String Arrangements
Greg Edward   Engineer
Harold Faltermeyer   Composer,Producer
David Hewitt   Engineer
Jimmy Iovine   Producer
Jerry Masters   Engineer
Steve Melton   Engineer
Thom Panunzio   Engineer
Rik Pekkonen   Engineer
Bob Seger   Composer,Producer
Greg "Frosty" Smith   Engineer
Bill Szymczyk   Producer,Engineer
David Thoener   Engineer
Don Was   Producer
Eugene Williams   Composer
Shelly Yakus   Engineer
Caroline Greyshock   Cover Photo
Terrence Bert   Inlay Photography
Ryan Freeland   Engineer
Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section   Producer
David Cole   Engineer

Customer Reviews