Grease [UK Import]

Grease [UK Import]

CD(German Import)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, August 4


No one expected the stage production of this in-your-face homage to high school, high hairdos, and hamburgers to succeed. Least of all Jim Jacobs and Warren Casey, the two out-of-work actors who wrote it. But the Broadway production of GREASE ran for more than eight years, a record for its time. GREASE also spawned the wildly popular 1978 film, starring John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John, which begot one of the largest-selling soundtracks of all time. The peppy and effervescent score did not survive the transition to screen intact, but "Summer Nights," "Beauty School Dropout," and "Freddy My Love" still have charm to spare. These originals have been augmented by fool-proof commercial fare like John Farrar's "You're the One That I Want" and "Hopelessly Devoted to You," as well as the Barry Gibb-penned title song, sung by Frankie Valli, -- all of which became monster singles. The soundtrack is padded with some golden oldies performed by Sha-Na-Na, but GREASE is still the word when it comes to slumber parties, drag races, and prom night.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 05/15/2007
Label: Universal Uk
UPC: 0044004404129
catalogNumber: 044041
Rank: 20283


  1. Grease
  2. Summer Nights
  3. Hopelessly Devoted To You
  4. You're The One That I Want
  5. Sandy
  6. Beauty School Drop-Out
  7. Look At Me, I'm Sandra Dee
  8. Grease Lightnin'
  9. It's Raining On Prom Night
  10. Alone At The Drive-In Movie
  11. Blue Moon
  12. Rock N' Roll Is Here To Stay
  13. Those Magic Changes
  14. Hound Dog
  15. Born To Hand Jive
  16. Tears On My Pillow
  17. Mooning
  18. Freddy My Love
  19. Rock N' Roll Party Queen
  20. There Are Worse Things I Could Do
  21. Look At Me, I'm Sandra Dee
  22. We Go Together [Interpolating: Witch Doctor/Who Put The Bomp (In The Bo
  23. Love Is A Many Splendored Thing
  24. Grease
  25. [CD-ROM Track]

Album Credits

Customer Reviews