Got No Shadow

Got No Shadow

by Mary Lou LordMary Lou Lord


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


For many years in the alternative revolution of the early '90s, Mary Lou Lord was touted as the next big thing by those in the know, but she never delivered a full-length album, preferring to turn out a series of indie EPs on Kill Rock Stars. It wasn't until 1998 that she released her full-length debut, Got No Shadow. While many of the titles on the album may be familiar to longtime fans -- "Lights Are Changing," "Some Jingle Jangle Morning," "Western Union Desperate," "Subway" -- the clean, polished sound of Got No Shadow might come as surprise. But the production actually does a nice job of opening up her sound, making it accessible like a Shawn Colvin record without losing integrity. Some critics may carp that Lord wrote or co-wrote seven of the 13 tracks of the record, with the rest of the songs devoted to covers of her longtime associate Nick Saloman (the Bevis Frond), and one tune apiece from Elizabeth Cotton ("Shake Sugaree") and Freedy Johnston ("The Lucky One"), but that has the effect of strengthening the album, since there isn't a weak song here. Lord has a sweet, thin voice that is surprisingly versatile, and she delivers Saloman's songs as convincingly as her own. Got No Shadow is a little subdued, but Lord's charming performances, clever lyrics, and catchy melodies prove remarkably resonant. It may not have the unvarnished appeal of the early EPs and tapes, but Got No Shadow was worth waiting for.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/27/1998
Label: Sony
UPC: 0074646757420
catalogNumber: 67574
Rank: 125868

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Mary Lou Lord   Primary Artist,Vocals
Shawn Colvin   Background Vocals
Nels Cline   Bass Guitar,Ebo
Ruth Barrett   Dulcimer
Rusty Anderson   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,12-string Guitar
Jon Brion   Harmonium,chamberlain
Paul Bushnell   Bass
Sharon Celani   Background Vocals
Gia Ciambotti   Background Vocals
Josh Freese   Drums
Ethan Johns   Musician
Roger McGuinn   12-string Guitar
Money Mark   Organ
Cait Reed   Violin,tin whistle
Nick Saloman   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,12-string Guitar
Rob Schnapf   Ebo
William Goldsmith   Drums
Elliott Smith   Acoustic Guitar
Fred Eltringham   Percussion,Drums
Beale Dabbs   Steel Guitar
Joe Ranieri   Percussion,Drums
Stephen Silbert   Electric Guitar,Rhythm Guitar
John Sprague   Bass

Technical Credits

Shawn Colvin   Contributor
Nels Cline   Contributor
Jon Brion   Contributor
Fred Maher   Producer
Roger McGuinn   Contributor
Money Mark   Contributor
Tom Rothrock   Producer,Engineer
David Schiffman   Engineer
Rob Schnapf   Producer,Engineer
Howard Willing   Engineer
William Goldsmith   Contributor
Elliott Smith   Contributor
Nick Salomon   Contributor
Frank ?   Illustrations

Customer Reviews