Good Morning Blues: The Autobiography of Count Basie as Told to Albert Murray

Good Morning Blues: The Autobiography of Count Basie as Told to Albert Murray

by Count Basie, Albert Murray


$9.79 $10.95 Save 11% Current price is $9.79, Original price is $10.95. You Save 11%.


Count Basie was one of America’s pre-eminent and influential jass pianists, bandleaders, and composers, known for such classics as “Jumpin’ at the Woodside,” “Goin’ to Chicago Blues,” “Sent for You Yesterday and Here You Come Today,” and “One O’Clock Jump.” In Good Morning Blues, Basie recounts his life story to Albert Murray, from his childhood years playing ragtime with his own pickup band at dances and pig roasts, to his years in New York City in search of opportunity, to rollicking anecdotes of Basie’s encounters with Fats Waller, Frank Sinatra, Fred Astaire, Sammy Davis Jr., Quincy Jones, Billie Holliday, and Tony Bennett. In this classic of jazz autobiography that was ten years in the making, Albert Murray brings the voice of Count Basie to the printed page in what is both testimony and tribute to an incredibly rich life.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780917657894
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 11/01/1986
Pages: 416
Product dimensions: 7.00(w) x 5.00(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

William James “Count” Basie (1904-84) was an American jazz pianist, organist, bandleader, and composer.

Albert Murray (1916-2013), author of thirteen books including Stomping the Blues, was a renowned jazz historian, novelist, and social and cultural theorist. He cofounded Jazz at Lincoln Center in 1987. 

Dan Morgenstern is a jazz critic and Director Emeritus of the Institute for Jazz Studies at Rutgers University. He is the author of Jazz People (1976); and Living with Jazz (2004), a reader edited by Sheldon Meyer, both winners of ASCAP’s Deems Taylor Award. In 2007, he received the A.B. Spellman Jazz Masters Award for Jazz Advocacy from the National Endowment for the Arts.

Table of Contents


Introduction to the New Edition
Dan Morgenstern


Part One: 1904-1951
The Blue Devils: 1927-1929
Red Bank and Thereabouts: 1904-Circa 1923
The Columbia Wheel: Circa 1924-Circa 1925
Harlem Stride Time: 1925-1926
TOBA: 1926-1927
Moten Swing Territory: 1929-1935
Three, Three, and Three at the Reno: 1935-1936
East to the Apple and The Woodside: 1936-1937
The Famous Door and the National Scene: 1938-1941
The Holy Main I: 1939-1941
The Holy Main II: 1942-1950

Part Two: 1951-1984
The Comeback: 1950-1954
Sixteen Men Swinging: 1954-1959
Stomping Grounds and Stopping Places: 1959-1964
One More Time and One More Once: 1964-1976
Ole Base Up to Now: 1976-1984

Afterword and Acknowledgments

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews