Gonna Take a Miracle: The Best of Deniece Williams

Gonna Take a Miracle: The Best of Deniece Williams

by Deniece Williams Deniece Williams
Gonna Take a Miracle: The Best of Deniece Williams

Gonna Take a Miracle: The Best of Deniece Williams

by Deniece Williams Deniece Williams


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, February 9


This 16-track, 72-and-a-half-minute compilation contains Deniece Williams' two number one pop/R&B hits, "Let's Hear It for the Boy" and "Too Much, Too Little, Too Late" (a duet with Johnny Mathis), as well as her remake of "It's Gonna Take a Miracle," an R&B number one and Top Ten pop hit, and "Free," which just missed the top of the R&B chart and made the pop Top 40. Otherwise, the collection is somewhat idiosyncratic, compilation producer Leo Sacks' idea of Williams' best, rather than her greatest hits. Her success on the R&B singles chart, where she scored 18 Top 40 hits, is shortchanged, as the set fails to contain such major R&B hits as "Never Say Never" and "You're All I Need to Get By." At the same time, Sacks finds room for the eight-minute album track "If You Don't Believe" and Williams' early gospel composition "God Is Amazing." Such tracks serve to emphasize the diversity in Williams' catalog, but R&B fans may find the set wanting.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 03/12/1996
Label: Sony
UPC: 0074646483923
catalogNumber: 64839
Rank: 29042


  1. Free
  2. I Found Love
  3. Cause You Love Me, Baby
  4. That's What Friends Are For
  5. God Is Amazing
  6. Baby, Baby, My Love's All for You
  7. When Love Comes Calling
  8. If You Don't Believe
  9. Silly
  10. It's Gonna Take a Miracle
  11. Waiting
  12. Do What You Feel
  13. I'm So Proud
  14. Too Much, Too Little, Too Late
  15. Black Butterfly
  16. Let's Hear It For The Boy

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Deniece Williams   Primary Artist,Vocals,Background Vocals
Philip Bailey   Background Vocals
Johnny Mathis   Track Performer
Michael Harris   Trumpet
Maurice White   Percussion,Drums,Background Vocals
Dorothy Ashby   Harp
George Duke   Keyboards
Richard Elliot   Lyricon
Victor Feldman   Background Vocals,Vibraslap,Vibes
Plas Johnson   French Horn,Woodwind
Lee Oskar   Harmonica
Azar Lawrence   Trombone,Trumpet
Ray Pizzi   French Horn,Woodwind
Tommy Vig   Percussion,Drums
David Foster   Keyboards
Bill Champlin   Background Vocals
Gene Page   Conductor
David T. Walker   Guitar
Michael Sembello   Guitar
Randall Aldcroft   Trombone,Trumpet
Jeanne Ashby   Harp
Bob Babbitt   Bass,Percussion
Michael Baird   Percussion,Drums
Mike Baird   Percussion,Drums
Sidney Barnes   Background Vocals
Jeff Baxter   Guitar
Thom Bell   Conductor,Keyboards,Background Vocals
George Bohannon   Trombone,Trumpet
Oscar Brashear   Trumpet
Ollie E. Brown   Percussion,Drums
Carl Carwell   Background Vocals
Dyanne Chandler   Background Vocals
Gary Coleman   Background Vocals,Vibraslap,Vibes
Charles Collins   Percussion,Drums
Paulinho Da Costa   Percussion,Drums
Don Renaldo   Strings,Horn
Larry Dunn   Keyboards
Nathan East   Bass,Percussion
Scott Edwards   Bass
Bobby Eli   Guitar
Alan Estes   Percussion,Drums
Larry Farrow   Keyboards
Charles Fearing   Guitar
Russell Ferrante   Keyboards
Chuck Findley   Trumpet
David Garibaldi   Percussion,Drums
Bill Green   Woodwind
Ed Greene   Percussion,Drums
Terry Harrington   French Horn,Woodwind
John Heitmann   French Horn,Woodwind
Carl Helm   Background Vocals
Marlo Henderson   Guitar
David Hungate   Bass,Vocals
Paul Jackson   Guitar
Joseph B. Jefferson   Background Vocals
Louis Johnson   Bass
Ricky Lawson   Percussion,Drums
Charles Loper   Trombone,Trumpet
Steve Lukather   Guitar
Steve Madaio   Trumpet
Timothy May   Guitar
McKay   Guitar
George Merrill   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Sidney Muldrow   French Horn
Don Myrick   Trombone,Trumpet
Bill Neale   Guitar,Conductor,Background Vocals
Jeff Porcaro   Percussion,Drums
Ray Parker   Guitar,Background Vocals
George Patterson   Trombone,Trumpet
Jerry Peters   Keyboards
Greg Phillinganes   Keyboards
Melvin Ragin   Guitar
Lee Ritenour   Guitar
Sylvester Rivers   Keyboards
Gale Robinson   French Horn
Marilyn Robinson   French Horn
John Rowin   Guitar
Shannon Rubicam   Background Vocals
Michel Rubini   Keyboards
Louis Satterfield   Trombone,Trumpet
Denny Seiwell   Percussion,Drums
Ed Shay   Percussion,Drums
David Sheilds   Bass
Sheridon Stokes   Woodwind
Larry Washington   Percussion,Drums
Maxine Willard Waters   Background Vocals
Oren Waters   Background Vocals
Ernie Watts   Woodwind
Verdine White   Bass,Vocals
Andrew Woolfolk   Trombone,Trumpet
Leland Sklar   Bass
"Ready" Freddie Washington   Bass
Freddie White   Percussion,Drums
Nathan Watts   Bass,Background Vocals
Bob Zimmitti   Percussion,Drums
Alan Robinson   French Horn

Technical Credits

Deniece Williams   Composer,Producer
Maurice White   Producer
George Duke   Producer
David Foster   Composer,Producer
Gene Page   Arranger,Horn Arrangements
Thom Bell   Arranger,Producer
Dick Bogert   Engineer
Peter Chaikin   Engineer
Dirk Devlin   Engineer
Warren Dewey   Engineer
Jay Gallagher   Engineer
David Garibaldi   Contributor
Humberto Gatica   Engineer
Ray Gerhardt   Engineer
Mitch Gibson   Engineer
Jack Gold   Producer
Mick Guzauski   Engineer
Jerry Hey   Horn Arrangements
Steve Hodge   Engineer
George Massenburg   Engineer
Don Murray   Engineer
Bill Neale   Arranger,Producer
Ray Parker   Producer
Jerry Peters   Producer
Sylvester Rivers   rhythm arrangement
Dean Rod   Engineer
Jack Rouben   Engineer
Charles Stepney   Producer
Arthur Stoppe   Engineer
Joe Tarsia   Engineer
Tom Tom 84   Horn Arrangements
Tommy Vicari   Engineer
Larry Washington   Executive Producer
Fritz Baskett   Composer
Mike Tarsia   Engineer,Contributor
John Vallins   Composer
Tony Sellari   Artwork,Art Direction
Murray Dvorkin   Engineer
Viriginia Prescott   Liner Notes
Nat Kipner   Composer

Customer Reviews