Golden [Deluxe Edition]

Golden [Deluxe Edition]

by Lady ALady A

CD(Special Edition)

$19.30 $19.99 Save 3% Current price is $19.3, Original price is $19.99. You Save 3%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, August 2


Lady Antebellum's heart and soul belong to Nashville, the place where dreams are packaged, polished, and sold. The trio, led equally by vocalists Hillary Scott and Charles Kelley, and rounded out by by jack-of-all-trades instrumentalist Dave Haywood, are designed to appeal to the largest possible audience and, as such, they're smart enough to not mess with a winning formula, choosing only to sweeten it on their fourth album, Golden. Like the other three (along with their 2012 holiday stopgap On This Winter's Night), Golden is produced by Paul Worley, a longtime Music City fixture who truly made his reputation producing Dixie Chicks, but there's no hint of the rowdiness that punctuated even the Chicks' glossiest work. Instead, this is all shimmering and slick, more of an adult contemporary pop album than a country record. Apart from the intro of "Get to Me," there's nary a hint of twang here, the tempos never escalate -- the sprightliest number is the bouncy, effervescent "Downtown"; the most insistent is the rocking "Better Off Now (That You're Gone)," whose loudness fades once the verse kicks in -- and the whole vibe is irrepressibly friendly, best heard on quietly insistent pieces of pop like "Can't Stand the Rain." So cheerful is Golden that it seems a little churlish to complain that the songs here aren't grabbers: they're slow burns, designed to sink into the subconscious through repeated plays on radio, in-store sound systems, waiting rooms, and bumper music. And that's fine: it's professional product at its finest, meticulously assembled, polished until it gleams, designed to be nothing more than thoroughly agreeable. [The Deluxe Edition of Lady Antebellum's 2013 blockbuster Golden is expanded with three new songs and three live performances. The most noteworthy of the new songs is "Compass," which contains a bit of Lumineers' big-footed folk stomp, but "And The Radio Played" is a nice bit of '80s adult contemporary nostalgia and "Life As We Know It" is another sweet ballad that could easily slip onto the radio. The live songs are all acoustic revisions of the group's big hits—including the breakthrough "Need You Now"—each of which is even softer than the original.]

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 11/11/2013
Label: Capitol
UPC: 0602537589302
catalogNumber: 001953302
Rank: 25822


  1. Get To Me
  2. Goodbye Town
  3. Nothin' Like The First Time
  4. Downtown
  5. Better Off Now (That You're Gone)
  6. It Ain't Pretty
  7. Can't Stand The Rain
  8. Golden
  9. Long Teenage Goodbye
  10. All For Love
  11. Better Man
  12. Generation Away
  13. Compass
  14. And The Radio Played
  15. Life As We Know It
  16. Need You Now
  17. Just A Kiss
  18. I Run To You

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Lady A   Primary Artist,Vocal Harmony
Dennis Edwards   Bass
Chad Cromwell   Percussion,Drums,Tambourine,Shaker
Stuart Duncan   Fiddle
Michael Rhodes   Bass
Biff Watson   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo
Glenn Worf   Bass
Paul Worley   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Michael Rojas   Synthesizer,Piano,fender rhodes,Hammond B3
Craig Young   Bass
Will Hoge   Harmonica
Dave Haywood   Acoustic Guitar,Mandolin,Percussion,Piano,Ukulele,Hammond B3
Jason "Slim" Gambill   Electric Guitar
Matt Billingslea   Percussion,Drums
Rob McNelley   Electric Guitar
Sari Reist   Cello
Nathan Chapman   Banjo,Bass,Dobro,Mandolin,Percussion,Drums,Electric Guitar
Clint Chandler   Electric Guitar
Jonathon Long   Synthesizer,Piano,Keyboards,Hammond B3

Technical Credits

Dennis Edwards   Composer
Natalie Hemby   Composer
Joe Martino   Engineer
Paul Worley   Producer
Erik Hellerman   Engineer
Clarke Schleicher   Engineer
James Slater   Composer
Shane McAnally   Composer
Brad Warren   Composer
Brett Warren   Composer
Karen Naff   Art Direction
Will Hoge   Composer
Dave Haywood   Composer,Engineer
Hillary Scott   Composer
Joanna Carter   Art Direction
Jason "Slim" Gambill   Composer
Hillary Lindsey   Composer
Brian Layson   Composer
Jedd Hughes   Composer
David Huff   Loop
Sarah Buxton   Composer
Mikkel Storleer Eriksen   Composer
Nathan Chapman   Composer,Programming,Producer
Josh Kear   Composer
Luke Laird   Composer
Lady A   Producer
Clint Chandler   Composer
Charles Kelley   Composer
Tom Douglas   Composer
Tor Erik Hermansen   Composer
Emile Haynie   Composer
Dallas Davidson   Composer
Jonathon Long   Composer
Ross Golan   Composer
Eric Paslay   Composer
Dan Omelio   Composer
Ammar Malik   Composer
Chris Tyrrell   Composer
Ernesto Olvera   Engineer
Nicolle Galyon   Composer

Customer Reviews