by Steely DanSteely Dan


$15.27 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.27, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.


Donald Fagen and Walter Becker wrote many outstanding light-rock tunes with a somewhat soulful appeal. This compilation album plays host to quite a few of those songs, among them "Hey Nineteen," "Deacon Blues," and "Black Cow."" The twosome have an uncanny style of conveying their messages in a very overt way without forfeiting the songs' charisma. Of the 12 tracks listed, Steely Dan is responsible for ten and the other two are Donald Fagen selections; both were taken from movie soundtracks, and unfortunately, they do not retain that same sting that the other compositions have.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/05/1991
Label: Mca
UPC: 0008811038724
catalogNumber: 10387


  1. Hey Nineteen
  2. Green Earrings
  3. Deacon Blues
  4. Chain Lightning
  5. FM
  6. Black Cow
  7. King of the World
  8. Babylon Sisters
  9. Here at the Western World
  10. Century's End
  11. True Companion
  12. Bodhisattva

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Steely Dan   Primary Artist,Track Performer
Patti Austin   Background Vocals
Rick Derringer   Guitar
Donald Fagen   Synthesizer,Piano,Keyboards,Electric Piano,Vocals,Track Performer
Michael McDonald   Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals
Michael Brecker   Tenor Saxophone
Larry Carlton   Guitar
Pete Christlieb   Tenor Saxophone
Ronnie Cuber   Baritone Saxophone
Victor Feldman   Percussion,Electric Piano
Don Grolnick   Piano,Electric Piano,Clavinet
Steve Khan   Guitar
Joe Sample   Clavinet
Tom Scott   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Lew Soloff   Trumpet
Paul Humphrey   Drums
Chuck Rainey   Bass
Clydie King   Background Vocals
Elliott Randall   Guitar
Jim Gordon   Drums
Gordon Grody   Background Vocals
Jimmy Haslip   Bass
Walter Becker   Bass,Guitar,Vocals
Jeff Baxter   Guitar
Errol Crusher Bennett   Percussion
Randy Brecker   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Leroy Clouden   Drums
Wilton Felder   Bass
Venetta Fields   Background Vocals
Steve Gadd   Percussion
Diva Gray   Background Vocals
Paul Griffin   Clavinet
Lani Groves   Background Vocals
Jim Hodder   Drums
Royce Jones   Percussion,Vocals
Walter Kane   Bass Clarinet
Will Lee   Bass,Bass (Vocal)
Rebecca Louis   Background Vocals
George Marge   Bass Clarinet
Rick Marotta   Drums
Hugh McCracken   Guitar
Leslie Miller   Background Vocals
Michael Omartian   Piano
Jeff Porcaro   Percussion,Drums
Dean Parks   Guitar
Bernard "Pretty" Purdie   Drums
Lee Ritenour   Guitar
Zachary Sanders   Vocals,Background Vocals
Timothy B. Schmit   Background Vocals
Harold Vick   Tenor Saxophone
Florence Warner   Background Vocals
Toni Wine   Background Vocals
Denny Dias   Guitar
Angela Patrick   Background Vocals
Casey Syszik   Background Vocals
Frank Floyd   Background Vocals
Jerome Aniton   Speech/Speaker/Speaking Part
Steve Jordan   Drums
Georg "Jojje" Wadenius   Guitar
Sherlie Matthews   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Donald Fagen   Composer
Rob Mounsey   Arranger,Horn Arrangements
Walter Becker   Composer
Gary Katz   Producer
Johnny Mandel   Arranger,String Arrangements
Vartan   Art Direction

Customer Reviews