by New EditionNew Edition




The two-disc Gold is somewhat like 2004's Hits and 1996's New Edition Solo Hits combined into one package, albeit with some updating. Rather than separate the group hits from the solo hits, it runs in chronological order. So, for instance, Bobby Brown's "Don't Be Cruel" and "My Prerogative" come after "If It Isn't Love" and before "Can You Stand the Rain," and Bell Biv DeVoe's "Poison" falls between Brown's "On Our Own" and Johnny Gill's "Rub You the Right Way." While each member had significant success away from the group -- either solo or with Bell Biv DeVoe -- the link to New Edition was always intrinsic, so the compilation does play out like a thorough history of New Edition from 1984 through 1997. That means, unfortunately, that the hits from 1983's Candy Girl ("Candy Girl," "Is This the End," "Jealous Girl," "Popcorn Love") are missing, which was likely a rights issue (the album came out on Warlock, before MCA saw the horizon of platinum and snapped up the group). Despite that problem, Gold is a convenient way to obtain some of the best R&B singles of the '80s and early '90s, whether in the form of ballads ("Can You Stand the Rain," "When Will I See You Smile Again"), laid-back strutters ("Sensitivity," "Don't Be Cruel," the Ray Parker, Jr.-written "Mr. Telephone Man"), or party jams ("Poison," "Cool It Now," "Rub You the Right Way"). In a rather ironic twist, the members' hits outside the group have held up a lot better than the ones they recorded while in it. "If It Isn't Love" at least shows where Ronnie, Johnny, Ricky, Mike, and Ralph really turned a corner and became something more than a boy band. That song, more than any other selection here, bundles up everything that was good about New Edition (as well as producers Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis) into four minutes.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/11/2005
Label: Hip-O Records
UPC: 0602498843901
catalogNumber: 000533002

Album Credits

Performance Credits

New Edition   Primary Artist
Johnny Gill   Vocals
Ralph Tresvant   Vocals
Bobby Brown   Vocals
Michael Bivins   Vocals
Ricky Bell   Vocals
Ronald DeVoe   Vocals

Technical Credits

Ralph Tresvant   Composer
Timmy Gatling   Composer,Producer
Michael Sembello   Producer
Alton "Wokie" Stewart   Composer,Producer
Bobby Brown   Composer
Kayo   Producer
Michael Bivins   Composer
Vincent Brantley   Composer,Producer
Sean "Puffy" Combs   Composer,Producer
Kirk Crumpler   Composer
Ronnie DeVoe   Composer
Gene Griffin   Composer,Producer
Bobby Hart   Composer,Producer
Howard Hersh   Producer
Hiriam Hicks   Executive Producer
Roney Hooks   Composer
Jimmy Jam   Arranger,Producer,Audio Production
Jellybean Johnson   Producer
Lisa Keith   Composer
Terry Lewis   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Ray Parker   Producer
Freddie Perren   Producer
Lee Peters   Composer
L.A. Reid   Composer,Producer
Teddy Riley   Composer
Richard Rudolph   Producer
Keith Shocklee   Composer,Producer
Jim Shea   Inlay Photography
Hank Shocklee   Producer
Louis Silas   Executive Producer
Daryl Simmons   Composer,Producer
Paul Stewart   Composer
Bruce Swedien   Producer
Rod Temperton   Producer
Rick Timas   Composer,Producer
George Tobin   Producer
Carl Wurtz   Composer
Eric Sadler   Composer,Producer
Dick Rudolph   Producer
James Harris   Composer
Steven Ivory   Liner Notes,Essay
Babyface   Composer
Albert Watson   Cover Photo,Inlay Photography
Ric Wyatt   Composer
Chucky Thompson   Composer,Producer
Elliot Straite   Composer
Dootsie Williams   Composer
Jeff Dyson   Composer
Heavy D   Composer
Garry Johnson   Composer
Ryan Null   Photo Coordination
Larry Michael White   Producer

Customer Reviews