Gold [Geffen]

Gold [Geffen]

by Neil DiamondNeil Diamond

CD(German Import)

$20.50 $20.99 Save 2% Current price is $20.5, Original price is $20.99. You Save 2%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, June 28


Neil Diamond 's Gold is the kind of release that makes you wonder exactly who it is aimed at and -- more importantly for the label -- who will buy it. Too long to be the kind of quick overview of his years (1968-1972) with MCA that casual fans would want (and which already exists in 1999's The Neil Diamond Collection), it is also bereft of anything collectors would need. They are likely to have the excellent Play Me: The Complete Uni Studio Recordings...Plus, which has all the songs here but also many more worthy tunes as well. (They might also already have the fine Glory Road: 1968 to 1972 set, which covers the same ground and has a very similar track listing.) In fact, one has to wonder how the selections for Gold were made, because along with all the hits there is a seemingly random sampling of Diamond's album tracks. One could easily argue that Diamond-composed album tracks like "Sunday Sun," "Practically Newborn," and "Deep in the Morning" are of more interest than his somewhat perfunctory covers of "Mr. Bojangles," "Both Sides Now," and "The Last Thing On My Mind." That is the kind of argument that could easily be settled by ponying up a few extra bucks and getting The Complete Uni Studio Recordings, though. If you are interested enough in this phase of Diamond's career to think about picking up Gold, you might as well pop for Play Me instead, because Gold leaves off some of his most interesting and fun work.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/01/2015
Label: Geffen Import
UPC: 0602498628652
catalogNumber: 8628652
Rank: 3525


Disc 1

  1. Two-Bit Manchild
  2. Brooklyn Roads
  3. Shilo
  4. Brother Love's Travelling Salvation Show
  5. Juliet
  6. And the Grass Won't Pay No Mind
  7. Glory Road
  8. If I Never Knew Your Name
  9. Memphis Streets
  10. Sweet Caroline
  11. Mr. Bojangles
  12. Smokey Lady
  13. Holly Holy
  14. Both Sides Now
  15. And the Singer Sings His Song
  16. Cracklin' Rosie
  17. Coldwater Morning
  18. Done Too Soon
  19. He Ain't Heavy, He's My Brother
  20. Soolaimón

Disc 2

  1. I Am...I Said
  2. The Last Thing On My Mind
  3. Chelsea Morning
  4. Crunchy Granola Suite
  5. Stones
  6. Suzanne
  7. I Think It's Gonna Rain Today
  8. Song Sung Blue
  9. Porcupine Pie
  10. Canta Libre
  11. Captain Sunshine
  12. Play Me
  13. Walk On Water
  14. Prelude in E Major
  15. Morningside
  16. Kentucky Woman
  17. Thank the Lord for the Night Time
  18. Solitary Man
  19. Cherry, Cherry
  20. Red, Red Wine
  21. Girl, You'll Be a Woman Soon

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Neil Diamond   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Leonard Cohen   Composer
Tom Paxton   Composer
Neil Diamond   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Joni Mitchell   Composer
Randy Newman   Composer
Tom Catalano   Producer,Audio Production
Tommy Cogbill   Producer,Audio Production
Jerry Jeff Walker   Composer
Chips Moman   Producer,Audio Production
Bob Russell   Composer
Bobby Scott   Composer
Vartan   Art Direction
Mike Ragogna   Audio Production
Robyn Flans   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews