by Lynyrd SkynyrdLynyrd Skynyrd


$15.27 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.27, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Yet another Lynyrd Skynyrd compilation -- as if there weren't already plenty -- not that there are that many available anymore, since CDs go out of print so quickly now. Gold is a bit different, though, in its bid to become a definitive double-disc overview. First of all there is the sound. Everything here has been remastered in 24-bit digital, so it's wonderful. Next, of course, is the track listing. "Free Bird" has a version on each disc. On disc one, the original studio version appears; on disc two, at the very end, is the extended live version issued on One More from the Road. The live version of "Gimme Back My Bullets" that's here was issued only on a white-label promo. OK, everything the somewhat-more-than-casual Skynyrd fan would want is here, from "Sweet Home Alabama," their first hit, to the still-startling read of J.J. Cale's "Call Me the Breeze," to the original recorded version of "Comin' Home," which was originally issued on The Essential Lynyrd Skynyrd. "Workin' for the MCA," is here, as is "Saturday Night Special," "Swamp Music," "What's Your Name," the live version of "Whiskey Rock-A-Roller" from One More from the Road, there's the really killer demo of "Four Walls of Raiford" that was only released on the box set, so more casual listeners will get a chance to hear this wonderful cut. But then the rest of the hits are here too: "Tuesday's Gone," "That Smell," "You Got That Right," and more. Bottom dollar is this: as a two-disc Skynyrd comp, this will be the one to beat; it's solid top to bottom with a few goodies thrown in for measure.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/08/2006
Label: Geffen Records
UPC: 0602498540930
catalogNumber: 000648702
Rank: 168476

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Lynyrd Skynyrd   Primary Artist
Allen Collins   Guitar
Billy Powell   Keyboards
Bob Burns   Drums
Steve Katz   Harmonica
Ed King   Guitar
Robert Nix   Drums
Gary Rossington   Guitar
Ronnie Van Zant   Vocals
Bobbye Porter   Percussion

Technical Credits

J.J. Cale   Composer
Kooper   Producer,Engineer,Audio Production
Allen Collins   Composer
Billy Powell   Composer
Jeff Carlisi   Composer
Tom Dowd   Producer,Audio Production
Ed King   Composer
Gary Rossington   Composer
Ronnie Van Zant   Composer
Ron O'Brien   Producer,Liner Notes
Tim Smith   Producer
Ryan Null   Photo Coordination

Customer Reviews