by Anonymous 4Anonymous 4


$20.58 $20.99 Save 2% Current price is $20.58, Original price is $20.99. You Save 2%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


If Anonymous 4 surprised some longtime listeners when they exchanged medieval masses and motets for the shape-note hymns and sacred roots music of their hit American Angels, this follow-up album is sure to please both old fans and new. While Gloryland can boast the familiar Anonymous 4 virtues of finely tuned vocal harmonies and deep investigative research, it also achieves a looser, more relaxed feeling -- thanks especially to two guest artists recruited from the world of traditional music, Darol Anger on violin and Mike Marshall on mandolin and guitar. With their subtle accompaniments and more uninhibited interludes, this pair of instrumentalists help the singers bridge the gap between church meeting and jamboree. Beyond their typically painstaking historical reconstructions, the women seem to get the spirit. Even more than the group's previous outing, Gloryland covers a wide range of American styles and genres, from pungent shape-note hymns such as "Ecstasy" and "Saint's Delight" to the sweeter harmonies of early gospel tunes like "The Shining Shore" to the austerely melancholy strains of "The Lost Girl" and other secular folk songs telling of womenfolk forsaken by their men. Naturally, Anonymous 4 lead the listener through these varied pieces in a way that reveals the connections among them as much as the contrasts. And by the time they arrive in "Green Pastures" at the program's end, they've given their audience both a richly textured music history lesson and a uniquely scenic journey through the traditional American soundscape.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/12/2006
Label: Harmonia Mundi Fr.
UPC: 0093046740023
catalogNumber: 907400
Rank: 34171

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Anonymous 4   Primary Artist,Vocal Ensemble
Darol Anger   Mandolin,Violin
Mike Marshall   Guitar,Mandolin,Mandocello

Technical Credits

John Leland   Text
John Newton   Text
Isaac Watts   Text
Anonymous 4   Arranger
Marsha Genensky   Arranger,Liner Notes
Susan Hellauer   Arranger
Brad Michel   Engineer
George F. Root   Composer
Robina G. Young   Producer
Robert Lowry   Text
William Walker   Composer
Sarah Lancaster   Composer
James C. Moore   Composer,Text
Rene Goiffon   Cover Photo
David Nelson (Dahveed Ben Israel)   Text
Phillip Leavitt   Text
James W. Acuff   Text
Elsa Beaulieu   Text Translation,Liner Note Translation
Irene Preston Miller   Artwork
Brad Michael   Engineer
David Nelson   Text
James C. Moore   Text
Hugh Stowell   Text
Smith Mead   Text
H.W. Vanhoose   Text
John Leland   Text
Elisha J. King   Artwork
Hudson River Quilters   Artwork
Bever   Text
Gregory Case   Cover Photo
William A. Muhlenberg   Text
Ingeborg Neumann   Text Translation,Liner Note Translation
Benjamin Franklin White   Artwork

Customer Reviews