Global Underground: Romania #026

Global Underground: Romania #026

by James LavelleJames Lavelle


1 New & Used Starting at $22.99


One of the unfortunate side effects of James Lavelle's conversion from genre-crafting label head to superstar DJ is the fact that his once lauded UNKLE musical project has been sidelined, with its Never, Never, Land album being completely overlooked by both music press and fans. But never one to let the scene landscape dictate his terms, Lavelle simply plays his strongest hand, filling his second globetrotting DJ set for Global Underground with ten carnations of his UNKLE muse, either with production or remix credits. Everyone from rockers Queens of the Stone Age and South to shoegaze revivalist M83 and even previous UNKLE co-conspirator DJ Shadow get the re-rub. In addition, Lavelle utilizes his pro-tools DJ chops to handsomely edit down Plastikman, among others, meaning that there is virtually no piece on this double-disc set untouched by Lavelle's hand. And those that aren't molested are almost exclusively crafted by Lavelle's cadre of nu breaks-school affiliates, including Meat Katie and Dylan Rhymes. The result is a bloated albatross with more drag than lift, mostly due to the lack of diversity amongst the beats and techniques. As the man who once singularly represented trip-hop to an adoring public, it's easy to understand Lavelle's tendencies to champion a particular style. But most other artists have moved on to use a more multilateral approach. Perhaps Lavelle would do better with more diversification and less specification.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/09/2004
Label: Global Underground
UPC: 0828272202621
catalogNumber: 26

Album Credits

Performance Credits

James Lavelle   Primary Artist,Group Member
Flaming Lips   Guest Appearance
Prime Cuts   Turntables
Graham Gouldman   Background Vocals
Jarvis Cocker   Synthesizer
Dave Eringa   Synthesizer,Mellotron
London Session Orchestra   Performing Ensemble
Gavyn Wright   Leader
Antony Genn   Synthesizer,Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Piano,Electric Guitar,Keyboards,Hammond Organ,Background Vocals
William Harper   fender rhodes
Mani   Bass
Wayne Coyne   Vocals,Guest Appearance
Luke Bullen   Drums
Steven Drozd   Vocals,Guest Appearance
Chris Elliott   Conductor
Shawn Lee   Drums
Patrick Byrne   Guitar,Piano,Background Vocals
Evan Johnson   Help
Richard File   Synthesizer,Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Piano,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals,Group Member
Melissa Jaques   Background Vocals
Philip Sheppard   Cello
Darrin Mooney   Drums
Psycho Pab   Synthesizer
Kenny The Sample Hound   Voices
Aiden Lavelle   Synthesizer
Beccy Byrne   Background Vocals
Jimmy Hogamy   Guitar
Jimmy Hogarth   Acoustic Guitar
Wil Malone   Conductor

Technical Credits

James Asher   Composer
Mark Lanegan   Composer
Barrett Strong   Composer
Dave Eringa   Producer
Josh Homme   Composer
Tommy Paterson   Programming
Norman Whitfield   Composer
Gavyn Wright   Orchestra Leader
Chemical Brothers   Producer
Neil Davidge   Composer,Vocal Producer
Robert "3D" del Naja   Composer,Vocal Producer
Tom Rowlands   Composer
Ed Simons   Composer
Richie Hawtin   Composer,Producer
Antony Genn   Composer,Producer,String Arrangements,Remixing
Tony Gonzalez   Producer
DJ Shadow   Producer
Derrick Carter   Composer,Producer
UNKLE   Producer,Remixing
James Lavelle   Composer,Producer,Remixing
Wayne Coyne   Composer
Elite Force   Composer
Meat Katie   Composer
Dennis Pino   Producer
Steven Drozd   Composer
Chris Elliott   String Arrangements,String Conductor
Medway   Producer,Remixing
Marvin Beaver   Composer
Lee Coombs   Composer,Producer
Justin Drake   Composer,Engineer
Cameron Craig   Programming,Engineer
Pépé Bradock   Producer
Damian Taylor   Programming,Producer
M. Wells   Producer,Remixing
Jesse Skeens   Remixing
Santos   Arranger,Producer
Richard Flack   Programming,Producer
Jack LaVelle   Producer,Remixing
Gaspare Valenti   Programming
Sean Genockey   Engineer
Richard File   Composer,Programming,Producer,Remixing
Ewan Pearson   Producer,Remixing
C. Henry Woods   Composer
Joel Cadbury   Composer
Brett Shaw   Composer
Ana   Author
Will Brunner   Producer,Remixing
Mark Pember   Composer,Producer
Dom Phillips   Sleeve Notes
Dan Wherrett   Producer
Psycho Pab   Programming,Producer
DJ Pedro   Author
Sante Pucello   Producer
Nicolas Fromageau   Composer,Producer
Christopher S. Lamb   Cover Design
Alex Dolby   Arranger,Producer
Evil Nine   Producer,Remixing
Dj Rhadoo   Author
Josh Davis   Composer
C. Richards   Producer
Jamie McDonald   Composer
Simon Wright   Programming
Martin Beaver   Producer,Remixing
Anthony Gonzalez   Producer
Wil Malone   String Arrangements

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews