Girl Last Seen: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist

Girl Last Seen: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist

by Nina Laurin
4.6 7

Paperback

$12.05 $14.99 Save 20% Current price is $12.05, Original price is $14.99. You Save 20%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Monday, October 23 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.
    Same Day delivery in Manhattan. 
    Details

Overview

Girl Last Seen: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist by Nina Laurin

Two missing girls. Thirteen years apart.

A twisty psychological thriller for readers of The Luckiest Girl Alive, The Good Girl, and All the Missing Girls.

Olivia Shaw has been missing since last Tuesday. She was last seen outside the entrance of her elementary school in Hunts Point wearing a white spring jacket, blue jeans, and pink boots.

I force myself to look at the face in the photo, into her slightly smudged features, and I can't bring myself to move. Olivia Shaw could be my mirror image, rewound to thirteen years ago.

If you have any knowledge of Olivia Shaw's whereabouts or any relevant information, please contact...

I've spent a long time peering into the faces of girls on missing posters, wondering which one replaced me in that basement. But they were never quite the right age, the right look, the right circumstances. Until Olivia Shaw, missing for one week tomorrow.

Whoever stole me was never found. But since I was taken, there hasn't been another girl.

And now there is.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781455569021
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Publication date: 06/20/2017
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 1,088
Product dimensions: 5.25(w) x 8.12(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Nina Laurin is a bilingual (English/French) author of suspenseful stories for both adults and young adults. She got her BA in Creative Writing at Concordia University, in her hometown of Montreal, Canada. You can learn more at thrillerina.wordpress.com and on Twitter @girlinthetitle

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Girl Last Seen: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Anonymous 4 months ago
So simple, so clear. Just open it and fall in love. and Take a Barnes $10 Off coupons code from bookscoupons.com
Anonymous 27 days ago
This book was insanely gripping. I absolutely loved it. Very realistic point of views from each character. What an incredible first novel by Nina Laurin. I hope there are many more to come after this, such a talented author. I will anxiously await her next book. I found myself reading deep into the late hours of the night just unable to put it down.
Anonymous 4 months ago
Kept my interest for every page!
mamalovestoread22 8 months ago
Girl Last Seen is a hauntingly good tale that had me intrigued from the first page, it was suspenseful, dark, and packed with many twists and turns that left me more than a little shocked! When Detective Sean Ortiz walks back into Lainey's life she instantly knows that it isn't for a pleasant visit, she can see it in his face, he's brought trouble with him, trouble that is certain to turn her carefully constructed life upside down. He needs her help finding a missing girl, and he has a hunch that the person who took her all those years ago, is involved. But she isn't so sure she is willing to travel down that road again, she has just now gotten to where she can breath a small sigh of relief, and look over her shoulder a little less. But then again the thought of another little girl suffering the same fate she found herself in all those years ago, makes her want to help... but at what cost? This was my first read from this author and I have to say I am quite impresses with what I found, I was looking for a read that would keep me on the edge of my seat and this one did that for sure! The story line was well crafted, contained lots of emotion and suspense, and it had my thoughts swirling more than once. Highly recommend this one, it's a gripping read, that is sure to have you on the edge of your seat and holding your breath the whole way through!!
Deb-Krenzer 9 months ago
Crazy, crazy ending. This one had me very confused at times, due to the main character, Ella/Lainey. She was a very strange bird, but I guess I would be also if I had been abducted and held captive for 13 years. That being said, I enjoyed reading the book. And the ending blew me away. Definitely recommend! Thanks to Grand Central Publishing and Net Galley for providing me with a free e-galley in exchange for an honest, unbiased review.
JBronder 10 months ago
When Ella Santos was 10 years old, she was abducted. She was sexually, physically, and mentally abused for three years until she was released. Her kidnapper was very careful, not giving her enough information that could be used to catch him and still had not be caught. Ella has changed her name to Lainey and has been trying to deal with this for the last 10 years. But one day as she is putting up fliers of missing children she sees a little girl that is 10 years old and looked just like Lainey when she was abducted. Although she wants to move on she knows she has to do something and although it’s going to be tough, she is going to have to relive her past to save Olivia Shaw. This book is heartbreaking. Lainey goes through hell and back yet has no way to identify her kidnapper. Then she is trying to live with the abuse that was done to her and that her kidnapper is still free. You can’t blame her for turning to drugs, alcohol because all the horrible decisions she has made since then. I wanted to cheer for her as she started hunting the kidnapper down yet then there were times I would get so frustrated at her. This was a great thriller that had me turning the pages and up all night to see what was going to happen next. Lainey may not have been a perfect character but she was willing to fight to save Olivia and herself. I received Girl Last Seen from Grand Central Publishing for free. This has in no way influenced my opinion of this book.
Anonymous 10 months ago
Debut author Nina Laurin has created a stunning dark and gritty thriller. Just when you think you know what's going to happen next, Laurin veers hard left and takes you down an unexpected and intriguing path. The plot is full of twists and sure to keep you turning pages late into the night. Main character Lainey is, first and foremost, a survivor. But the three years she spent suffering under the hands of a sadistic kidnapper left their mark on her, both physically and mentally. Now a young adult, she is appalled to learn that another young girl has gone missing...and that this girl's case bears some remarkable similarities to hers. She's enlisted to help in the hunt for the missing girl and must face hard truths about her own past that threaten to consume her. The effects of Lainey's abuse and resulting PTSD filter into every aspect of her life. She self-medicates her intense anxiety with drugs (prescription and otherwise) and keeps her distance emotionally from those around her. The author handles Lainey's mental state with deft compassion and truth. At no point do you pity Lainey, but you always empathize with her. Lainey is raw and real, and you flinch every time she makes a bad mistake while understanding exactly why she's doing it. GIRL LAST SEEN is character-driven suspense at its finest. You suspect everybody and trust nobody. Exactly what I want in a psychological thriller. Highly recommend. *I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.*