German Afternoons

German Afternoons

by John PrineJohn Prine


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, July 29


Another straight country set, but unlike Sweet Revenge, this is a sleepy-town stroll, featuring snappy accompaniment by the New Grass Revival. After the terrific opening take on the Carter Family classic "Lulu Walls," the record glides along at a gentle tempo, yielding the clever "Let's Talk Dirty in Hawaiian" and one classic ballad, "Speed of the Sound of Loneliness," which was cut in a superb rendition by Nanci Griffith for her Other Voices, Other Rooms project. It also features "Linda Goes to Mars" and a re-recording of "Paradise" from Prine's debut. ~ John Floyd & Jim Smith

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 10/25/1990
Label: Oh Boy
UPC: 0094012000325
catalogNumber: 3
Rank: 7517


  1. Lulu Walls
  2. Speed of the Sound of Loneliness
  3. Out of Love
  4. Sailin' Around
  5. If She Were You
  6. Linda Goes to Mars
  7. Let's Talk Dirty in Hawaiian
  8. I Just Want to Dance with You
  9. Love, Love, Love
  10. Bad Boy
  11. They'll Never Take Her Love from Me
  12. Paradise

Album Credits

Customer Reviews