George Lewis & His New Orleans Stompers, Vol. 1

George Lewis & His New Orleans Stompers, Vol. 1

by George LewisGeorge Lewis


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, June 21


By 1947, Blue Note had switched its focus to bop; the label's final trad recordings were of George Lewis' band. There was always something very charming about the clarinetist's spirited music, and he became one of the most popular New Orleans jazzmen of the 1950s. Lewis' last of three Blue Note studio recordings are reissued in full on this 1998 CD, including three alternates and one master ("Move the Body Over") that were first issued in Mosaic's complete Lewis LP box set. The band features Lewis on clarinet, trumpeter Avery "Kid" Howard, trombonist Jim Robinson, pianist Alton Purnell, banjoist George Guesnon, bassist Alcide "Slow Drag" Pavageau and drummer Joe Watkins; they were at their best on driving ensembles, and the rhythm section could be quite powerful. The clarinetist is generally in fine form (slipping out of tune in occasional spots, as on "Mahogany Hall Stomp"). Jim Robinson was always quite reliable and, while Kid Howard is a bit erratic, this is one of his better sets. Highlights include "When You Wore a Tulip," "I Can't Escape From You," "Lord, Lord, Lord, You Sure Been Good to Me" and no less than three versions of "Gettysburgh March." Easily recommended to trad collectors.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/07/1994
Label: Ghb Jazz Foundation
UPC: 0762247110026
catalogNumber: 100
Rank: 108100


  1. Climax Rag
  2. New Orleans Hulu
  3. Don't Go 'Way Nobody
  4. Two Jim Blues
  5. A Closer Walk with Thee
  6. Climax Rag
  7. Climax Rag
  8. A Closer Walk with Thee
  9. A Closer Walk with Thee
  10. Ain't Gonna Give Nobody None Of This Jelly Roll
  11. Ain't Gonna Give Nobody None Of This Jelly Roll
  12. Careless Love
  13. Careless Love
  14. Dauphine Street Blues

Album Credits

Customer Reviews