Genuine Houserockin' Christmas

Genuine Houserockin' Christmas


$12.47 $12.99 Save 4% Current price is $12.47, Original price is $12.99. You Save 4%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 13


Genuine Houserockin' Christmas is a 16-track compilation of newly recorded holiday tunes sampling the roster of Alligator Records. These tunes capture several Chicago blues, modern soul, and zydeco artists including Koko Taylor, Lonnie Brooks, Lil' Ed & the Blues Imperials, Coco Montoya, C.J. Chenier & the Red Hot Louisiana Band, Saffire - The Uppity Blues Women, Little Charlie & the Nightcats, and Roomful of Blues. These are new Christmas tunes; you won't find "White Christmas," "The Christmas Song," or even "Merry Christmas Baby." This set is sure to become a staple for listeners seeking an alternative to traditional holiday fare.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/16/2003
Label: Alligator Records
UPC: 0014551920229
catalogNumber: 9202
Rank: 23653


  1. Have You Heard the News?
  2. Christmas Train
  3. Christmas Snow
  4. Christmas Time
  5. Stay a Little Longer, Santa
  6. Back Door Santa
  7. Christmas Party
  8. Zydeco Christmas
  9. Christmas Day Blues
  10. Christmas Fais Do Do
  11. Santa Claus, Do You Ever Get the Blues?
  12. Really Been Good This Year
  13. All I Want for Christmas (Is to Be With You)
  14. A Bluesman's Christmas
  15. It's Christmas Time Again (Spend, Spend, Spend)
  16. Fattening Up the Turkey

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Marcia Ball   Piano,Vocals
Lonnie Brooks   Guitar,Vocals
Koko Taylor   Vocals
Dave Hole   Guitar,Vocals
John Hahn   Percussion
Gaye Adegbalola   Guitar,Vocals
Little Charlie Baty   Guitar
Carey Bell   Harmonica,Vocals
John Cephas   Guitar,Vocals
C.J. Chenier   Percussion,Accordion,Vocals
W.C. Clark   Guitar,Vocals
Popsy Dixon   Drums,Vocals
Bob Enos   Trumpet
Rick Estrin   Harmonica,Vocals
Mike Garrett   Guitar
Johnny B. Gayden   Bass
Richard Gibbs   Piano
Glenna Griffin   Bass
Brad Hallen   Bass
Barry Harrison   Drums
Willie Hayes   Drums
Sherman Holmes   Bass,Vocals
Wendell Holmes   Guitar,Hammond Organ,Vocals
Vasti Jackson   Guitar
Criss Johnson   Bass,Guitar
Gerald Johnson   Bass
Gregory Jones   Percussion
Mark "Kaz" Kazanoff   Tenor Saxophone
Rich Lataille   Alto Saxophone
Danny Levin   Fiddle
Kelly Littleton   Drums
Coco Montoya   Guitar,Vocals
Arthur Neilson   Guitar
Derek O'Brien   Guitar
Riley Osborne   Keyboards
Bob Patient   Keyboards
Anthony Patler   Keyboards
Ann Rabson   Piano,Vocals
Catherine Russell   Tambourine,Vocals
Ken Saydak   Piano
Lee Spath   Drums
Chris Vachon   Guitar
Phil Wiggins   Harmonica
Lil' Ed Williams   Guitar,Vocals
Bradley Jaye Williams   Accordion
Ernest Williamson   Organ
Ronnie Baker Brooks   Guitar,Percussion
Casper Rawls   Guitar
Mark DuFresne   Vocals
Larry Fulcher   Bass
Shemekia Copeland   Vocals
Andra Faye   Mandolin,Vocals
Alan Mirikitani   Guitar
Kevin Smith   Bass
James "Pookie" Young   Bass
Michael Burks   Guitar,Vocals
Mark Earley   Baritone Saxophone
Alfred James   Percussion,Rubboard
Jason Langley   Bass
John H.R. Mills   Baritone Saxophone
Roy Daniel   Bass
Gary Slechta   Trumpet
Mike Rodbard   Drums
Kriss T. Johnson   Drums
David Smith   Bass
David Miller   Bass
Jason Corbiere   Drums
Mark Stevens   Keyboards
Tim Betts   Guitar
Wayne Baker Brooks   Guitar
Daryl Coutts   Organ
Ric Eastman   Drums
Lorenzo Farrell   Bass
Rob Hooper   Drums
Christopher "Katt" Lee   Percussion,Drums,Vocals
Jay Hansen   Drums
Jason Ladanye   Keyboards
Steve Potts   Drums
Barry "Frosty" Smith   Drums

Technical Credits

Marcia Ball   Composer
Lonnie Brooks   Composer
Saffire -- The Uppity Blues Women   Producer
Koko Taylor   Composer,Producer
Clarence Carter   Composer
Dave Hole   Composer,Producer
John Hahn   Producer
Blaise Barton   Engineer
John Cephas   Composer
Little Charlie & the Nightcats   Producer
C.J. Chenier   Composer,Producer
W.C. Clark   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Marcus Daniel   Composer
Rick Estrin   Composer
Jim Gaines   Producer
Jerry Hall   Engineer
Bruce Iglauer   Composer,Producer,Executive Producer
Criss Johnson   Producer
Mark "Kaz" Kazanoff   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Horn Arrangements
Marty Lester   Engineer
Coco Montoya   Producer
Ann Rabson   Composer
Jim Robeson   Engineer
Stuart Sullivan   Engineer
Chris Vachon   Composer,Producer
John Villani   Engineer
Dennis Walker   Composer
Lil' Ed Williams   Composer
Popa Chubby   Producer,Engineer
Ronnie Baker Brooks   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Jason Latshaw   Engineer
Rick Barnes   Engineer
Michael Trossman   Logo
Shemekia Copeland   Composer
Alan Mirikitani   Engineer
Joe Johnson   Engineer
Chris Murphy   Engineer
James "Pookie" Young   Composer
Michael Burks   Producer
Joe "Flip" Wilson   Producer

Customer Reviews