Gathering of the Spirits

Gathering of the Spirits

by Mutabaruka


2 New & Used Starting at $11.64


The concept behind this album is, as its title indicates, that of a gathering: old-school dub poet Mutabaruka brought together some of the top reggae session players from the music's golden age (drum'n'bass duo Sly Dunbar and Robbie Shakespeare, bassist Leroy Sibbles, guitarist Earl "Chinna" Smith, and others) and teamed them up with some of that same era's finest singers (Justin Hinds, Marcia Griffiths, Judy Mowatt, and others) with the express purpose of recapturing the energy that animated reggae before the onslaught of computerized dancehall beats in the early '80s. The experiment is a great success overall. Culture's "Blackman King" is delivered with more gusto than they've been able to muster in a while, and Big Youth's deejay performance on the same rhythm is equally fine. On "Someday We'll All Be Free" Judy Mowatt shows that she's still the sexiest singer in reggae, all the more so because she never sings about sex (take that, Lady Saw), and Marcia Griffiths' performance of "Woman of the Ghetto" is a tour de force -- her voice is amazingly well preserved. The same can't quite be said of either Justin Hinds or the Mighty Diamonds, but they still acquit themselves well.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/16/1998
Label: Shanachie
UPC: 0016351454027
catalogNumber: 45040

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Mutabaruka   Primary Artist,Ukulele,Vocals,Slack Key Guitar
Big Youth   Track Performer
Culture   Track Performer
Justin Hinds   Track Performer
Mighty Diamonds   Track Performer
Pablo Moses   Track Performer
Judy Mowatt   Track Performer
Leroy Sibbles   Bass
Pam Hall   Background Vocals
Mikey Chung   Bass,Guitar
Glen DaCosta   Horn
Tyrone Downey   Keyboards
Sly Dunbar   Drums
Hortense Ellis   Track Performer
Chevelle Franklin   Background Vocals
Dean Fraser   Saxophone
Brian & Tony Gold   Background Vocals
Tony Gold   Background Vocals
Maurice Gordon   Rhythm Guitar
Marcia Griffiths   Track Performer
Bongo Herman   Percussion
Desi Jones   Drums
Robert Lyn   Keyboards
David Madden   Horn
Ernest Ranglin   Guitar,Track Performer
Nambo Robinson   Trombone
Robbie Shakespeare   Bass
Earl "Chinna" Smith   Guitar
Leroy "Horsemouth" Wallace   Drums
Howard Messam   Horn
Ibo Cooper   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Marlena Shaw   Composer
Richard Evans   Composer
Mikey Chung   Producer
Tyrone Downey   Producer
David Rowe   Engineer
Randall Grass   Executive Producer
Bobby Miller   Composer
Fatta Brim   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews