GarciaLive, Vol. 10: May 20th, 1990 Hilo Civic Auditorium

GarciaLive, Vol. 10: May 20th, 1990 Hilo Civic Auditorium

by Jerry GarciaJerry Garcia


$16.61 $17.99 Save 8% Current price is $16.61, Original price is $17.99. You Save 8%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The tenth volume of the archival GarciaLive series documents a 1990 set from the Jerry Garcia Band recorded on Hawaii's Big Island. Although band visits were rare, Garcia developed a great personal affection for the Hawaiian Islands in the late '80s when his Grateful Dead bandmate Bill Kreutzmann introduced him to the recuperative wonders of scuba diving. In fact, this May 20, 1990 show held at the Hilo Civic Auditorium was a benefit for the Ocean Recreational Council of Hawaii. Featuring keyboardist Melvin Seals, bassist John Kahn, drummer David Kemper, and backup singers Gloria Jones and Jacklyn LaBranch, the show offers some JGB standards like the Marvin Gaye classic "How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved by You)" and the Hunter-Garcia tune "They Love Each Other" alongside reggae covers by Peter Tosh and Jimmy Cliff. Some additional contemporary covers also graced this set, like Los Lobos' "Evangeline" and Bruce Cockburn's "Waiting for a Miracle," as well as a unique cover of the Dylan/Band classic "Tears of Rage."

Product Details

Release Date: 02/23/2018
Label: Ato Records
UPC: 0880882322021
catalogNumber: 823220
Rank: 12785

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jerry Garcia   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
John Kahn   Bass,Group Member
David Kemper   Drums,Group Member
Jackie LaBranch   Background Vocals,Group Member
Melvin Seals   Keyboards,Group Member
Gloria Jones   Background Vocals,Group Member

Technical Credits

Jimmy Cliff   Composer
Hank Ballard   Composer
Bruce Cockburn   Composer
Bob Dylan   Composer
Jerry Garcia   Composer
Robert Hunter   Composer
Don Nix   Composer
Dan Penn   Composer
John Cutler   Engineer
Lamont Dozier   Composer
Haven Gillespie   Composer
David Hidalgo   Composer
Eddie Holland   Composer
Brian Holland   Composer
Charles Johnson   Composer
Richard Manuel   Composer
Peter Tosh   Composer
William Robinson   Composer
Louie Pérez   Composer
Robert Rogers   Composer
Ryan Corey   Illustrations
Beasley Smith   Composer
Dennis McNally   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews