Future Now

Future Now

by PleasurePleasure


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Arguably, the members of Pleasure were among the unsung heroes of 1970s funk and soul. The band enjoyed a small but enthusiastic cult following, but one thing that it didn't have was a lot of major hits on R&B radio. For the most part, R&B radio ignored Pleasure, although quiet storm formats did play some of its more mellow album tracks. The exception to that rule came in 1979, when black radio proved to be quite receptive to "Glide." A pearl of a funk single, "Glide" is an infectious party jam that the African-American working class easily related to. The tune isn't really sociopolitical, although it isn't mindlessly fun either -- essentially, "Glide" is telling listeners to hang in there and be positive despite the challenges that life presents. And you don't have to be African-American to relate to the song's message. "Glide" was the only song on Future Now that could be called a major hit, although it isn't the album's only gem. Those who acquired this 1979 LP also found a lot to admire about jazz-influenced material that ranges from funk smokers like "Nothin' to It" and "Space Is the Place" to the smooth quiet storm offerings "Strong Love" and "Thoughts of Old Flames." Without question, Future Now is among Pleasure's most essential albums.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/06/2013
Label: Ace Records Import
UPC: 0029667525626
catalogNumber: 6752562
Rank: 28891

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Pleasure   Primary Artist
Dennis Springer   Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Group Member
Jeff Lorber   Prophet Synthesizer
Bruce Carter   Drums,Group Member
Tony Collins   Trumpet,Flugelhorn,Group Member
Tim Gorman   Moog Synthesizer
Pat Henderson   Background Vocals
Donald Hepburn   Keyboards,Background Vocals,Group Member
Michael Hepburn   Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals,Group Member
Jerry Hey   Trumpet
Clydene Jackson   Background Vocals
Lew McCreary   Trombone
Nathaniel Phillips   Electric Bass,Background Vocals,Group Member
Julia Tillman Waters   Background Vocals
Maxine Willard Waters   Background Vocals
Sherman Davis   Vocals,Background Vocals,Group Member
William Frank "Bill" Reichenbach   Trombone
Marlon "The Magician" McClain   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Background Vocals,Group Member
Larry Williams   Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone
Bruce Smith   Percussion,Background Vocals,Group Member
Doug Lewis   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Soloist

Technical Credits

Jeff Lorber   Programming
Pleasure   Producer
Marlon McClain   Composer,Producer
Wally Buck   Engineer
Bruce Carter   Composer
Tim Gorman   Programming
Donald Hepburn   Composer
Michael Hepburn   Composer,Horn Arrangements
Phil Kaffel   Producer,Engineer,Remixing
Nathaniel Phillips   Composer
Dean Rudland   Liner Notes
Phil Carroll   Art Direction
Jamie Putnam   Cover Art
Ralph Kaffel   Liner Notes
Dennis Gassner   Cover Art
Bruce Smith   Composer
Doug Lewis   Composer
Chad Debnam   Composer

Customer Reviews