Further In

Further In

by Greg BrownGreg Brown


$15.30 $15.99 Save 4% Current price is $15.3, Original price is $15.99. You Save 4%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 24


Wonderfully and sparsely produced by guitarist Bo Ramsey, Further In may be the best outing yet from old-fashioned folkie Brown -- which is saying plenty. Brown's warm baritone has never sounded better, and slide-guitar-spiced numbers like "China" are addictive ear candy. Typically, Brown wrote every track; typically, too, the moods range from somber or even depressing ("Small Dark Movie") to positively ebullient ("Hey Baby Hey"). The latter mood predominates, though: most of the time, Brown comes across as genuinely happy, and the disposition inspires him. Unlike, say, Bob Dylan, who appears to produce his best recordings when he's facing a personal crisis, the introspective Brown seems to deliver his most striking verse, effusive melodies, and heartfelt singing when he's satisfied. A line in the irresistible "Two Little Feet" sums up his apparent state of mind: "Oh man, what am I trying to say?/It's a messed up world but I love it anyway."

Product Details

Release Date: 09/24/1996
Label: Red House
UPC: 0033651008828
catalogNumber: 88
Rank: 54938


  1. Small Dark Movie
  2. Think About You
  3. Two Little Feet
  4. Hey Baby Hey
  5. China
  6. Where Is Maria
  7. If You Don't Get It at Home
  8. You Can Always Come to Me
  9. Someday When We're Both Alone
  10. Not High
  11. Further In
  12. If I Ever Do See You Again

Album Credits

Customer Reviews