Funk Fantastique

Funk Fantastique

by Charles EarlandCharles Earland


$15.69 $15.99 Save 2% Current price is $15.69, Original price is $15.99. You Save 2%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Although Funk Fantastique is a somewhat thrown-together affair, the music presented on the album represents solid work by organist/keyboardist Charles Earland and company. The material at the center of the album (tracks four through seven) was originally released as Charles III in 1972, and the surrounding tracks are previously unreleased. Since the unreleased material comes from two different sessions, three different ensembles grace Funk Fantastique. The presence of singer Joe Lee Wilson on the dated "Auburn Delight" (think cheesy '70s jazz) offers even more variety. Through it all, though, Earland's funky organ and keyboard brings all the material together under the banner of soul-jazz. Even on an unsuccessful and sexist piece like "Auburn Delight," Earland's organ work has a brisk, spunky quality that makes the instrumental portion of the song sparkle. Much better, however, are "Charles III" and "Girl, You Need a Change of Mind," both supported by large, energetic horn sections. There's also some solid guitar work from Jack Turner on the latter piece. Among the unreleased tracks, there's a fun version of "Never Can Say Goodbye," the old Jackson 5 hit, with nice soprano work by Jimmy Vass. Funk Fantastique never ties up all of its loose ends, but it nonetheless lives up to its title.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/03/2004
Label: Prestige
UPC: 0025218313025
catalogNumber: 11030
Rank: 91019

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Charles Earland   Primary Artist,Organ,Percussion,Electric Piano,Soprano Saxophone
Jon Faddis   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Billy Harper   Alto Flute,Tenor Saxophone,Tenor (Vocal)
Hubert Laws   Flute,Piccolo
Lee Morgan   Trumpet
Houston Person   Tenor Saxophone
Seldon Powell   Alto Flute,Baritone Saxophone
Maynard Parker   Guitar
Gary Chandler   Trumpet
Garnett Brown   Trombone
Buddy Caldwell   Conga
Billy Cobham   Drums
Dick Griffin   Trombone
Jack Jeffers   Trombone,Tuba
Virgil Jones   Trumpet,Soloist
Lawrence Killian   Conga
Jesse Kilpatrick   Drums
Sonny Morgan   Conga
Victor Paz   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Stuart Scharf   Acoustic Guitar
Jack Turner   Guitar,Percussion
Jimmy Vass   Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone
Darryl Washington   Percussion,Drums
Joe Lee Wilson   Vocals
William Thorpe   Baritone Saxophone
Lee Morgan Quintet   Trumpet,Soloist
Joe Shepley   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Richard Gene Williams   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Richard Williams   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
William Thorpe   Baritone (Vocal)
Larry Killian   Conga

Technical Credits

Clifton Davis   Composer
Aretha Franklin   Composer
Charles Earland   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Lee Morgan   Composer
Richard Rodgers   Composer
Ozzie Cadena   Audio Production
Leonard Caston   Composer
Rudy Van Gelder   Engineer
Oscar Hammerstein   Composer
Jamie Putnam   Art Direction
Tom Terrell   Liner Notes
Anita Poree   Composer

Customer Reviews