Fumbling Towards Ecstasy [Bonus CD/DVD]

Fumbling Towards Ecstasy [Bonus CD/DVD]

by Sarah McLachlanSarah McLachlan

CD(Bonus DVD / Bonus CD)

$19.31 $24.99 Save 23% Current price is $19.31, Original price is $24.99. You Save 23%.
View All Available Formats & Editions


Although 1991's Solace made Sarah McLachlan a star in Canada, her international breakthrough arrived two years later with Fumbling Towards Ecstasy, a softly assured album that combined the atmospheric production of Pierre Marchand (a former apprentice -- and evident disciple -- of Daniel Lanois) with some of McLachlan's strongest songwriting to date. At the center of everything was her voice, an ethereal, lilting soprano that helped pave the way for Paula Cole, Lillith Fair, and a decade's worth of successful female songwriters. McLachlan utilized the crack between her chest and head voice, emphasizing the changing tones as her melodies climbed into the vocal stratosphere. She was also comparatively young at the time of Ecstasy's release, and her combination of vocal hooks and commercial appeal wouldn't be fully mastered until 1997's Surfacing. Even so, McLachlan's work was rarely as raw or honest as it is here, where tales of sin, lust, and love are delivered alongside piano arpeggios and electronic flourishes. "Possession," the album's lead-off single, is a jarring love ballad with lyrics inspired by a stalker's correspondence. There's a double-edged quality to the song's eerie lines -- "I'll take your breath away," "I won't be denied," "Just close your eyes, dear" -- and Marchand underscores that tension by setting McLachlan's melodies to a nocturnal trip-hop beat. Elsewhere, the two lighten up with "Ice Cream," which likens love's sweetness to decadent deserts, yet Fumbling Towards Ecstasy takes most of its strength from the lush, rhythmic dreamscapes that dominate the album. Alternately dark and shimmering, intimate and ornate, soothing and slyly unsettling, Fumbling Towards Ecstasy launched McLachlan's international star power while setting a high bar for her future albums, many of which approached -- but not never quite eclipsed -- this career highlight. [An extended "legacy edition" of Fumbling Towards Ecstasy was released in 2008, commemorating the album's 15-year anniversary with a three-disc package comprising the original album, the gold-certified Freedom Sessions, and a live DVD filmed in 1994.]

Product Details

Release Date: 08/05/2008
Label: Sony Legacy
UPC: 0828768728529
catalogNumber: 87285


Disc 1

  1. Possession
  2. Wait
  3. Plenty
  4. Good Enough
  5. Mary
  6. Elsewhere
  7. Circle
  8. Ice
  9. Hold On
  10. Ice Cream
  11. Fear
  12. Fumbling Towards Ecstasy
  13. Possession

Disc 2

  1. Elsewhere
  2. Plenty
  3. Mary
  4. Good Enough
  5. Hold On
  6. Ice Cream
  7. Ice
  8. Ol' 55
  9. Hold On

Disc 3

  1. Plenty
  2. Good Enough
  3. Wait
  4. Home
  5. Ice
  6. Ben's Song
  7. Out of the Shadows
  8. I Will Not Forget You
  9. Path of Thorns (Terms)
  10. Hold On
  11. Possession
  12. Mary
  13. Ice Cream
  14. Fumbling Towards Ecstasy
  15. Ol' 55
  16. Possession
  17. Possession
  18. Hold On
  19. Good Enough
  20. Bonus Materials

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sarah McLachlan   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Piano,Electric Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals
Bill Dillon   Bass,Guitar,Piano,Guitorgan
Dave Kershaw   Organ,Piano,Keyboards,Hammond Organ,Background Vocals
Pierre Marchand   Bass,Percussion,Piano,Keyboards,Background Vocals,Performing Ensemble,Shaker,Roland TR-808,Percussion Machine
Jerry Marotta   Percussion,Drums
Dave Sinclair   Acoustic Guitar,Dobro,Background Vocals
Michel Dubeau   Saxophone
Brian Minato   Bass
Guy Nadon   Drums
Jane Scarpantoni   Cello
Ashwin Sood   Percussion,Drums,Background Vocals,Djembe
Luke Doucet   Guitar,Slide Guitar,Lap Steel Guitar
Camille Henderson   Background Vocals
Lou Stefano   Drums

Technical Credits

Tom Waits   Composer
Sarah McLachlan   Composer
Dave Kershaw   Engineer
Pierre Marchand   Composer,Producer,Engineer,drum machine,drum programming,Found Sounds
John Rummen   Art Direction
Roman Klun   Guitar Engineer
Darren Salmieri   Producer
Terry McBride   Management

Customer Reviews