From There to Here: Greatest Hits

From There to Here: Greatest Hits

by LonestarLonestar




It's no wonder that Lonestar have scored so many hits with their love-obsessed songs: Their warm, close-knit harmonies and lead singer Richie MacDonald's husky, blues-tinged vocals are the perfect tools with which to dissect matters of the heart. This sturdy Greatest Hits collects 14 hits -- including 8 chart-toppers -- plus 2 new songs and a bonus track. The soaring power ballad "Amazed" perched at No. 1 for two weeks, but its success has been overshadowed by the 2002 ASCAP/BMI Song of the Year, "I'm Already There," a touching story of parents separated only by distance and the strength of family ties -- the song that has taken on greater meaning as recent conflicts overseas have uprooted more Americans from their homes. Otherwise there's a good balance of barn burners and ballads, from the fiddle-fired rocker "With Me" to the Brooks & Dunn–styled honky-tonk lament "Tequila Talkin' " to "No News," a funky grinder about a beautiful heartbreaker. Of the new tunes, the radio-friendly original "My Front Porch Lookin' In" is a buoyant celebration of life at home, while the other is a terrific interpretation of Marc Cohn's "Walkin' in Memphis," a spirited evocation of Bluff City's cultural totems buoyed by MacDonald's gritty, insistent vocal. The unusual bonus track features phone calls received by San Diego radio station KSON from local military families expressing support and encouragement for their loved ones overseas, as "I'm Already There" plays in the background. Yeah, it's hokey, but those on the receiving end of the messages likely received a much-needed boost -- and it makes for real tasty icing on this sweet, sweet cake.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/03/2003
Label: Bna Entertainment
UPC: 0078636707624
catalogNumber: 67076

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Lonestar   Primary Artist
Matt Rollings   Keyboards
Mike Brignardello   Bass
Stuart Duncan   Fiddle
Paul Franklin   Steel Guitar
Dann Huff   Electric Guitar
Paul Leim   Drums
John Willis   Acoustic Guitar
Jimmy Nichols   Keyboards
Russell Terrell   Background Vocals
Tim Akers   Keyboards
Dean Sams   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Michael Britt   Electric Guitar

Technical Credits

Larry Boone   Composer
Marc Cohn   Composer
Bill LaBounty   Composer
Aaron Barker   Composer
Gary Baker   Composer
Jeff Balding   Engineer
Chuck Cannon   Composer
Don Cook   Producer
Steve Diamond   Composer
Mark Hagen   Engineer
David Hall   Engineer
Sam Hogin   Composer
Dann Huff   Producer
Robert John "Mutt" Lange   Composer
Frank J. Myers   Composer
Paul Nelson   Composer
Mark Sanders   Composer
Chris Waters   Composer
Craig Wiseman   Composer
Brett James   Composer
Jed Hackett   Engineer
Jon Randall   Composer
Michael Britt   Composer
Mellissa Schleicher   grooming
Chris Lindsey   Composer
Aimee Mayo   Composer
Richie McDonald   Composer
Maribeth Derry   Composer
Marvin Green   Composer
Anthony Smith   Composer
Wally Wilson   Composer,Producer
Astrid Herbold May   Art Direction
Cassie Roark   grooming
Troy Verges   Composer
John Rich   Composer
Don Pfrimmer   Composer
James Dean Hicks   Composer
Ron Harbin   Composer

Customer Reviews