From Me to You

From Me to You

by AndrewAndrew


$13.69 $14.99 Save 9% Current price is $13.69, Original price is $14.99. You Save 9%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 20


Andrew Sandoval is a well-documented sunshine pop addict, and there's no arguing he's learned a lot from all those pretty-on-the-surface, sad-on-the-inside songs he's been doting on throughout his career in music. Sandoval has learned to write songs that mimic the style of his heroes with impressive accuracy, and his fifth album, From Me to You, is a modest marvel of 21st century pop. Recorded mostly utilizing acoustic instruments and without trap drums, From Me to You's 11 songs are full of beautifully layered harmonies, chiming guitars, subtle keyboard lines, and drop-dead-beautiful melodies that would do Michael Brown or Emitt Rhodes proud. The liner notes state that this material was all recorded live in the studio, which would make the seamless perfection of these performances all the more remarkable. However, while Sandoval's music is impressive indeed, as a lyricist he leaves a bit to be desired, and if From Me to You has a flaw, it's that listeners have heard most of these tales of love gone problematic told with greater eloquence from other writers, and while none of them are thuddingly awful, they're also not nearly as memorable as his melodies (which are also derivative, but with enough skill and craft to make them compelling despite their familiarity). Sandoval is able to blend form and content with equal skill on the gently melancholy "No One Else," and the playful venom of "I Hate Your Guts" is a welcome diversion, but too much of From Me to You suggests he ought to collaborate with a wordsmith who can bring the same strength of craft that Sandoval brings to his music.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/14/2007
Label: Vibrophonic Records
UPC: 0663281720427
catalogNumber: 17204
Rank: 181453


  1. July to January
  2. A Change of Scene
  3. Something for You
  4. The Distance
  5. I Want to Go
  6. Someone New
  7. Something Warm
  8. No One Else
  9. I Hate Your Guts
  10. Forget (Everyday)
  11. Temporary

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Andrew   Primary Artist
Mathew Cooker   Cello
Dennis Diken   Percussion,Drums
David Nolte   Bass
Dave Pearlman   Pedal Steel Guitar
Andrew Sandoval   Organ,Guitar,Percussion,Piano,Harmonium,Vocals,Moog Synthesizer,Soloist
Kristian Hoffman   Organ,Piano
Dave Amels   Organ
Steve Stanley   Percussion,Background Vocals,Bass Harmonica
Brian Kehew   Background Vocals
Probyn Gregory   Pedal Steel Guitar,Horn
Jim Laspesa   Background Vocals
Daphne Chen   Violin
Nelson Bragg   Percussion,Background Vocals
Carrie Bartsch   Violin
Victoria Lanier   Violin

Technical Credits

Roger Neill   Orchestral Arrangements
Dave Pearlman   Engineer
Andrew Sandoval   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Dave Amels   Engineer
Brian Kehew   Engineer

Customer Reviews