by Bryan Ferry Bryan Ferry


by Bryan Ferry Bryan Ferry




The Sultan of Suave has never exactly been known for exhibiting the sort of vibe the title of this disc implies -- and while Frantic isn't exactly a super-caffeinated collection, it is Ferry's most iconoclastic album in ages. As he has on most of his solo discs, he trots out an intriguing collection of covers, highlighted here by languid renditions of a pair of Bob Dylan tunes ("It's All Over Now Baby Blue" and "Don't Think Twice, It's Alright") and an appropriately mournful take on Leadbelly's "Goodnight Irene." More intriguing, however, are the originals that he's conjured up this time around, which cover considerably more ground than Ferry's recent lounge-y discs, as evidenced by the dark-hued "Hiroshima," which features the guitar of Radiohead's Jonny Greenwood. Most of the new tunes -- such as the smoky, romantic "Cruel" -- were co-written with ex-Eurythmic Dave Stewart, but Ferry reunites with his old Roxy Music cohort Brian Eno for the haunting album closer, "I Thought." Yes, he's still kinda laid-back, but Frantic proves that Bryan Ferry is a long way from being laid out.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 04/29/2002
Label: Emi Europe Generic
UPC: 0724381198421
catalogNumber: 8119842


  1. It's All Over Now, Baby Blue
  2. Cruel
  3. Goin' Down
  4. Goddess of Love
  5. Don't Think Twice, It's All Right
  6. Nobody Loves Me
  7. Ja Nun Hons Pris
  8. A Fool for Love
  9. Goodnight Irene
  10. Hiroshima...
  11. San Simeon
  12. One Way Love
  13. I Thought

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bryan Ferry   Primary Artist,Harmonica,Keyboards,Vocals,Harmonia
Eddie LeJeune   Accordion
Robin Trower   Guitar
Chris Spedding   Guitar,Electric Sitar
Audrey Wheeler   Background Vocals
Lucy Kaplansky   Background Vocals
Sarah Brown   Background Vocals
Trio Cadien   Background Vocals
Terry Disley   Keyboards
Brian Eno   Guitar,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Pete Glenister   Guitar
Mick Green   Guitar
Bobby Irwin   Drums
Zev Katz   Bass
D.L. Menard   Guitar
Marcus Miller   Bass
Rev. Sister Mary M. Nelson   Soprano
Andy Newmark   Percussion,Drums
Frank Ricotti   Percussion
Ken Smith   Fiddle
Dave Stewart   Guitar
Paul Thompson   Percussion,Drums
Lucy Wilkins   Strings,Vocals
Alison Goldfrapp   Background Vocals
Jonny Greenwood   Guitar
Colin Good   Piano,Virginal,Mellotron
Rosie Wetters   Strings,Vocals
Jhelisa Anderson   Background Vocals
Lisa Anderson   Background Vocals
Adam Lamprell   Guitar
Patti Russo   Background Vocals
David E. Williams   Bass,Guitar
Alice Retif   Background Vocals
Robert Fowler   Oboe,Alto Saxophone
Martin Wheatley   Guitar
Keith G. Thompson   Oboe,Recorder,Curtal,Woodwind,Crumhorn
Kelli Dayton   Background Vocals
Paul Anthony Taylor   Keyboards
Natalia Bonner   Strings,Vocals
Lucy Theo   Strings,Vocals
Nicole Blumberg   Background Vocals
Stevie DeGranville   Background Vocals
Julia Thornton   Harp
D.L. Menard & The Louisiana Aces   Guitar

Technical Credits

Lead Belly   Composer
Bob Dylan   Composer
Bryan Ferry   Arranger,Producer
Harry Nilsson   Composer
Robin Trower   Producer
Nick Addison   Engineer
Neil Brockbank   Engineer
Rhett Davies   Producer
John A. Lomax   Composer
Richard Norris   Engineer
Dave Stewart   Producer
Mark Tucker   Engineer
Sven Taits   Engineer
Colin Good   Arranger,Producer,String Arrangements
Ash Howes   Engineer
Ben Chapman   Programming
James Sanger   Programming
Paul Anthony Taylor   Programming
Mike Boddy   Engineer

Customer Reviews