ISBN-10:
0062410202
ISBN-13:
9780062410207
Pub. Date:
Publisher:
Frannie and Tru

Frannie and Tru

by Karen Hattrup

Hardcover

$17.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days

Overview

“Absorbing, electrifying, and achingly relatable. Frannie and Tru is a book with a pulse.” —Becky Albertalli, author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Perfect for fans of Prep and The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Frannie and Tru is a dazzling YA debut about a transformative summer in the life of a girl whose idol is not what he seems.

Frannie has always idolized her cousin Tru. At seventeen, Tru is charismatic, rich, charming—everything fifteen-year-old Frannie wants to be, and everything she’s not. So when Frannie overhears her parents saying that after a bad coming-out experience Tru will be staying with them in Baltimore for the summer, Frannie is excited and desperate to impress him. But as Frannie gets swept up in Tru’s worldly way of life, she starts to worry that it may all be a mask Tru wears to hide a dark secret. And if Tru isn’t the person Frannie thought he was, what does that mean for the new life she has built with him?

Confronting issues of race, class, and sexuality, Karen Hattrup weaves a powerful coming-of-age story that’s at once timeless and immediate, sharply observed, and recognizable to anyone who has ever loved the idea of a person more than the reality.



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062410207
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 05/31/2016
Pages: 320
Product dimensions: 5.80(w) x 8.50(h) x 1.20(d)
Lexile: HL790L (what's this?)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

Karen Hattrup grew up outside of Washington, DC, and now lives outside of Baltimore with her husband and two kids. She's been writing stories for as long as she can remember and formerly worked as a newspaper reporter. Frannie and Tru was her debut novel, and Our Year in Love and Parties is her second. She's kind of awkward at parties, but she does love cake, people-watching, and dancing with her friends.  

Customer Reviews