Franklin D. Roosevelt: The Making of America #5

Franklin D. Roosevelt: The Making of America #5

by Teri Kanefield


$16.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Franklin D. Roosevelt tells the story of the president who lifted the United States from depression to global leadership

When Roosevelt was first elected president in 1933, America was in the throes of the Great Depression—the worst economic crisis in U.S. history—and the world was experiencing a menacing rise in Nazism and other dangerous extremists. Throughout his four presidential terms, Roosevelt was a steady and inspiring leader. He implemented progressive social reform through his New Deal agenda and helped lift America from economic crisis. He guided America to victory in World War II.

Born into wealth and privilege, Roosevelt entered politics at a young age. His career and world views were shaped by his marriage to Eleanor Roosevelt and his long struggle with polio.

Franklin Delano Roosevelt, our thirty-second president, forever left his mark on our nation and the world. By the time of his death, America had grown to a global economic and military superpower. His New Deal legislation changed the relationship of American citizens to their government. His policies came close to fully realizing Alexander Hamilton’s vision of a government that touches and improves the lives of all citizens.

The book includes selections from Roosevelt’s writings, endnotes, a bibliography, and an index.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781419734021
Publisher: ABRAMS
Publication date: 10/08/2019
Series: Abrams Making of America Series , #5
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 531,758
Product dimensions: 5.70(w) x 8.30(h) x 0.90(d)
Age Range: 10 - 14 Years

About the Author

Teri Kanefield is a lawyer and the author of The Girl from the Tar Paper School, The Extraordinary Suzy Wright, the Making of America series, and more. Her awards include the Jane Addams Children’s Book Award and the Carter G. Woodson Book Award. She lives in San Luis Obispo, on the central California coast.

Table of Contents

Prologue: America Under Attack 1

1 Always Bright and Happy 8

2 Anna Eleanor Roosevelt 24

3 Entering Politics 42

4 Assistant Secretary of the Navy 61

5 The Great War 76

6 Trial by Fire 94

7 The Great Depression 115

8 A New Deal 129

9 Action, and Action New 139

10 A Switch in Time Saves Nine 161

11 The Second World War 180

12 Back to the Hudson 199

13 Afterward 214

14 Legacy 217

Selected Writings of Franklin D. Roosevelt 220

Timeline 225

Notes 229

Bibliography 242

Acknowledgements 244

Index 245


San Luis Obispo, CA

Customer Reviews