Four Women: The Nina Simone Philips Recordings

Four Women: The Nina Simone Philips Recordings

by Nina Simone


$37.87 $49.99 Save 24% Current price is $37.87, Original price is $49.99. You Save 24%.


From 1964 to 1967, the late Nina Simone recorded for Philips, releasing some of the most popular music of her long career. It's a period which coincided with her transformation from a chocolate-voiced jazz singer to an emblematic figure of the Civil Rights movement, and finally her incarnation as the High Priestess of Soul. Just some of the tracks from this period -- "Mississippi Goddam," "Four Women," "The Other Woman," "I Put a Spell on You," "Black Is The Color Of My True Love's Hair" -- go a long way toward establishing the artistry and impact of Nina Simone. These albums will be available in a new boxed four-disc collection, featuring the individual titles Nina Simone In Concert, Broadway. Blues. Ballads, I Put a Spell On You, Pastel Blues, Let It All Out, Wild Is the Wind, and her definitive High Priestess of Soul. The box set also includes one bonus track, "A Monster" and liner notes by jazz authority Ashley Kahn, author of A Love Supreme: The Story of John Coltrane's Signature Album.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/20/2003
Label: Verve
UPC: 0044006502120
catalogNumber: 065021

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nina Simone   Primary Artist,Piano,Vocals
Hal Mooney   Conductor
Horace Ott   Conductor
Schackman   Guitar,Harmonica
Rudy Stevenson   Flute,Guitar
Lisle Atkinson   Bass,Percussion
Bobby Hamilton   Drums

Technical Credits

Marc Blitzstein   Composer
George Gershwin   Composer
Dimitri Tiomkin   Composer
Kurt Weill   Composer
Irving Berlin   Composer
Nina Simone   Arranger,Composer
Chuck Berry   Composer
Bob Dylan   Composer
Nat Adderley   Composer
Irving Mills   Composer
Jacques Brel   Composer
Andy Badale   Composer
Richard Rodgers   Composer
Mort Shuman   Cover Photo
Hal Mooney   Arranger,Producer
Van McCoy   Composer
Pure   Composer
Charles Aznavour   Composer
Richard M. Jones   Composer
Bertolt Brecht   Composer
Oscar Brown   Composer
Eve Merriam   Composer
Bennie Benjamin   Composer
Barney Bigard   Composer
Billie Holiday   Composer
Leslie Bricusse   Composer
James Cox   Composer
Walter Donaldson   Composer
Duke Ellington   Composer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Oscar Hammerstein   Composer
Lorenz Hart   Composer
Screamin' Jay Hawkins   Composer
Arthur Herzog   Composer
Gus Kahn   Composer
Peter Keepnews   Note Editing
Hecky Krasnow   Composer
Leroy Kirkland   Composer
Chic Medley   Composer
Anthony Newley   Composer
Horace Ott   Arranger,Composer
Cole Porter   Composer
Ralph Rainger   Composer
Leo Robin   Composer
Robert Scott   Composer
Marcel Stellman   Composer
George Stone   Composer
Charles Strouse   Composer
Harry Warren   Composer
Ned Washington   Composer
Bert Williams   Composer
Rudy Stevenson   Composer
Alex Rogers   Composer
James Alan Shelton   Composer
Don Bronstein   Cover Photo
Isabelle Wong   Art Direction
Nat Adderley   Composer
Jimmy Cox   Composer
Hollis King   Art Direction
DuBose Heyward   Composer
Willard Robison   Composer
Maurice Seymour   Cover Photo
Jackie Alper   Composer
Sol Marcus   Composer
Jessie Mae Robinson   Composer
Sidney Wyche   Composer
Earl Shuman   Composer
Yves Stephane   Composer
Andy Stroud   Composer
Richard Ahlert   Composer
George Bass   Composer
Gloria Caldwell   Composer
Leon Carr   Composer
John Clifford   Composer
Alex Comfort   Composer
Waring Cuney   Composer
Ron Vander Groef   Composer
Eunice Waymon   Composer
Ashley Kahn   Liner Notes
Traditional   Composer
Ken Druker   Executive Producer
Lewis Allan   Composer
Lee Adams   Composer
William Lovelock   Composer
John Edmondson   Composer
Irma Jurist   Composer
Wade Jr. Brown   Composer
Thomas Moore   Composer
A. Stroud   Composer
Charles Derringer   Composer
E. Burroughs   Composer
J. M. Robinson   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews